With this win - Joost Luiten

9/15/2013 3:22:00 PM
Joost Luiten  (Getty Images)
Joost Luiten (Getty Images)

• His third European Tour International Schedule victory in his 127th European Tour event.

• Moves to €1,010,068 in The Race to Dubai. This is the first time he has won more than €1 million in a single European Tour season and beats his previous best figure of €976,540 in 2011.

• Moves to inside the top 60 of the Official World Golf Ranking from 81st.

• His second European Tour victory of the 2013 season, following the Lyoness Open powered by Greenfinity.

• Becomes the fifth player in the 2013 European Tour season to record multiple victories. They are: Brett Rumford (Ballantine’s Championship and Volvo China Open), Graeme McDowell (Volvo World Match Play Championship and Alstom Open de France), Phil Mickelson (Aberdeen Asset Management Scottish Open and The 142nd Open Championship), Tiger Woods (WGC – Cadillac Championship and WGC – Bridgestone Invitational) and Joost Luiten (Lyoness Open powered by Greenfinity and KLM Open).

• The first Dutchman to record multiple victories in the same European Tour season.

• The first Dutchman to win the KLM Open since Maarten Lafeber in 2003. Only the second Dutch winner of the KLM Open since the event became part of The European Tour in 1972.

• This victory comes in his ninth appearance in the KLM Open.

• This victory beats his previous best performance in the KLM Open of second in 2007, which was held at Kennemer G&CC.

• This victory continues his wonderful summer form. Including his first victory of the year in the Lyoness Open powered by Greenfinity, his last eight events, he has won twice, tied second in the Irish Open, tied fourth in the ISPS Handa Wales Open and tied tenth in the BMW International Open.


• The second of his three European Tour victories when he has led going into the final round. He led by three after 54 holes of the Lyoness Open powered by Greenfinity. (Also led by one shot after 54 holes of the 2013 Irish Open, but finished tied second).

• The 20th player this season to win when leading or sharing the lead going into the final round.

• The seventh Dutch victory in European Tour history.

• Moves to the top of the list of Dutch winners on The European Tour with three.

• Only the second time in European Tour history that The Netherlands have recorded two victories in the same season. The first was in 2003 when Robert-Jan Derksen (Dubai Desert Classic and Maarten Lafeber (KLM Open) won.

• Gains a place in the Continental Europe team for the Seve Trophy presented by Golf+.

• Moves to the top of The European Ryder Cup Points Table with €408,308.

• Extends his European Tour exemption until the end of 2015.

• Gains his sixth win as a professional.

• Gains his largest European Tour prize of €300,000.

• Gains a place in the 2013 WGC – HSBC Champions.

• Becomes the 16th European Tour victory by former Challenge Tour players on the 2013 European Tour. They are: Scott Jamieson (Nelson Mandela Championship presented by ISPS Handa), Louis Oosthuizen (Volvo Golf Champions), Jamie Donaldson (Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship), Stephen Gallacher (Omega Dubai Desert Classic) Richard Sterne (Joburg Open), Marcel Siem (Trophée Hassan II), Raphaël Jacquelin (Open de España), Brett Rumford (Ballantine’s Championship and Volvo China Open), Joost Luiten (Lyoness Open powered by Greenfinity and KLM Open), Simon Thornton (Najeti Hotels et Golfs Open presented by Neuflize OBC), Justin Rose (US Open Championship), Michael Hoey (M2M Russian Open), Tommy Fleetwood (Johnnie Walker Championship at Gleneagles), Grégory Bourdy (ISPS Handa Wales Open) and  Thomas Björn (Omega European Masters).

• Becomes the 324th European Tour victory by a former Challenge Tour player.