With this win - Louis Oosthuizen

1/12/2014 2:14:00 PM
Louis Oosthuizen  (Getty Images)
Louis Oosthuizen (Getty Images)

• His seventh European Tour International Schedule victory in his 223rd European Tour event.

• Moves to €579,235 in The Race to Dubai.

• Moves back into the top 30 of the Official World Golf Ranking, from 34th.

• His first European Tour title since the 2013 Volvo Golf Champions.

• Makes a successful defence of the title he won 12 months ago.

• The second different European Tour event he was in back-to-back years. The first was the Africa Open in 2011-2012.

• Becomes only the second South African, following Charl Schwartzel (2010-2011 Joburg Open and 2013-2014 Alfred Dunhill Championship), to make a successful defence of two different European Tour titles.

• Becomes the eighth different player in European Tour history to make a successful defence of two or more different European Tour events. He follows: Seve Ballesteros, Sir Nick Faldo, Mark James, Colin Montgomerie, Charl Schwartzel, Tiger Woods and Ian Woosnam.

• The third player to successfully defend a European Tour title this season. He follows: Charl Schwartzel (2013-2014 Alfred Dunhill Championship) and Miguel Angel Jiménez (2012 and 2014 Hong Kong Open. Played in 2013 but not on the 2013 Schedule).

• His fourth European Tour victory on home soil. They are: 2011 Africa Open, 2012 Africa Open, 2013 Volvo Golf Champions and 2014 Volvo Golf Champions.

• His fifth consecutive European Tour season with a victory, dating back to the 2010 season. This is now the new record for active players to win in the most number of consecutive seasons.

• His second victory comes in his third appearance in the Volvo Golf Champions.


• In his three appearances in the Volvo Golf Champions, has now finished tied seventh in 2012, first in 2013 and first in 2014.

• Continues with the run of South African winners at Durban Country Club in European Tour competition. Every time the venue has been used a South African has won. They are: Wayne Westner (1996 FNB Players Championship), Ernie Els (1998 and 2011 (Dec 10) South African Open Championship), Tim Clark (2002 and 2005 South African Open Championship) and Louis Oosthuizen (2013 and 2014 Volvo Golf Champions).

• Second consecutive South African victory on the 2014 Schedule, following Dawie Van der Walt at the Nelson Mandela Championship presented by ISPS Handa.

• The third South African victory from the first six European Tour events this season. They are: Charl Schwartzel (Alfred Dunhill Championship), Dawie Van der Walt (Nelson Mandela Championship presented by ISPS Handa) and Louis Oosthuizen (Volvo Golf Champions.

• The fourth consecutive time he has won his first event in a calendar year on The European Tour. The events were: the 2011 Africa Open, 2012 Africa Open, 2013 Volvo Golf Champions and 2014 Volvo Golf Champions.

• The third consecutive South African victory in the Volvo Golf Champions, following Branden Grace (2012) and Louis Oosthuizen (2013 and 2014).

• The 120th South African victory in European Tour history.

• Just the second of his seven European Tour wins where he has not led going into the final round.

• His 12th win as a professional worldwide and ninth in his homeland.

• Gains a place in the 2014 WGC – Bridgestone Invitational, 2014 Volvo World Match Play Championship and 2015 Volvo Golf Champions.

• Moves over €10 million in European Tour Official Earnings.

• Becomes the third European Tour win of the 2014 season by a former Challenge Tour player. They are: Morten Ørum Madsen (South African Open Championship hosted by the City of Ekurhuleni), Thomas Björn (Nedbank Golf Challenge) and Louis Oosthuizen (Volvo Golf Champions).

• Becomes the 331st European Tour victory by a former Challenge Tour player.