Omega Dubai Desert Classic: Day One in Numbers

1/30/2014 2:14:07 PM
Jeev Milkha Singh  (Getty Images)
Jeev Milkha Singh (Getty Images)

Plenty of key numbers in the opening round at Emirates GC as Rory McIlroy stormed into the lead after some peerless play in Dubai.

63 – carded by McIlroy during the first round on the Majilis Course

7 – birdies and one eagle, at the par five third hole, on Thursday

2 – strokes short of the course record set by Ernie Els in the first round of the 1994 event en route to the title

2009 – the last time he won this title, his first professional victory

19 – years old when McIlroy won the title, the youngest man to win this title

0805 – the time that this morning’s marquee group teed off, with McIlroy alongside defending Champion Stephen Gallacher (-6) and World Number One Tiger Woods (-4)

0 – the number of people who have successfully defended this title

11 – nationalities in the top ten (16 players)

5 – strokes covering the top ten

13 – eagles on day one, four at the par five tenth

6th – hole averaged the most difficult on Thursday (4.333)

4.568 – scoring average on the par five tenth, the easiest hole

17 – greens hit by the most accurate plays during the first 18 holes (Ricardo Gonazalez and Soren Kjeldsen)

1 – under par is the current cut mark (68 players)

1989 - the first year of the Omega Dubai Desert Classic was first held, won by Mark James

1 – player has played in all 25 stagings of this event, Barry Lane

5 – The number of wire-to-wire winners in the history of the Omega Dubai Desert Classic – Eamonn Darcy (1990), Seve Ballesteros (1992), Ernie Els (1994), José Coceres (2000) and Rory McIlroy (2009)