The First 49 - WGC events In Numbers

2/19/2014 3:47:00 PM
The First 49 - WGCs in Numbers  (EuropeanTour)
The First 49 - WGCs in Numbers (EuropeanTour)

As the 50th World Golf Championships event begins in Arizona, took a statistical look back at the first 49…

49 – The number of official individual WGC events that have been played. (This excludes the 2001 WGC – Cadillac Championship which was cancelled and the WGC – World Cup between 2007-2011)

1 – The first WGC event was won by Jeff Maggert when he defeated Andrew Magee in the 1999 WGC – Accenture Match Play Championship

1999 – The year of the first WGC event to be played: the WGC – Accenture Match Play Championship.

18 – The number of WGC events won by Tiger Woods

44 – The most number of appearances, a record held by Lee Westwood

2009 – The year that the HSBC Champions became part of the WGC series

26 – The number of different players to have won a WGC event

18 – The number  of holes-in-one from the previous events

6 – The number of different countries to stage WGC completion. They are: Australia, China, England, Ireland, Spain and United States

7 – The number of players to record multiple WGC wins. They are: Darren Clarke, Ernie Els, Hunter Mahan, Phil Mickelson, Geoff Ogilvy, Ian Poulter and Tiger Woods

23 – The age of Tiger Woods when he became the youngest WGC winner, at the 1999 Bridgestone Invitational

20,046,115 – The figure in euro that Tiger Woods has won in WGC history

2000 – The year Darren Clarke became the first European player to win a WGC event, the Accenture Match Play Championship, beating Tiger Woods in the final

45 – The age of Vijay Singh when he became the oldest WGC winner at the 2008 Bridgestone Invitational

15 – The number of Accenture Match Play Championships and Bridgestone Invitationals that have been played

14 – The number of Cadillac Championships that of have taken place

259 – The lowest winning 72 hole total in a WGC event, when Tiger Woods won the 2000 Bridgestone Invitational

4 – The number of play-offs which have taken place in stoke play WGC events. All were won by Tiger Woods

2 – Number of albatrosses in WGC history. They were by Ernie Els (2000 Bridgestone Invitational) and Padraig Harrington (2010 HSBC Champions)