• EN
  • DE
  • FR
  • ES
  • JP

The Ryder Cup

There were two unofficial matches between professionals from Great Britain and the United States before the birth of The Ryder Cup in 1927, both won by the British.

The first was played at Gleneagles in 1921 but the second of these, held at Wentworth in 1926, was undoubtedly the most significant for among those in the gallery was a man called Samuel Ryder.

Ryder was an English seed merchant and entrepreneur from St Albans in Hertfordshire who made his money selling penny seed packets. He had taken up golf relatively late in life to improve his health and employed Abe Mitchell, one of the golfing greats of his era, as his personal tutor.

Ryder was enthralled by the match at Wentworth, and particularly delighted to see Mitchell team up with George Duncan to defeat the defending Open Champion Jim Barnes and the great Walter Hagen. ‘We must do this again’, said Ryder in the bar afterwards and The Ryder Cup was born.

Ryder donated a small but striking gold cup that today epitomises all that is good in sporting competition. It cost £250 and the small golfing figure atop the cup, as requested by the donor, stands as a lasting memorial to Abe Mitchell.

The first 22 Ryder Cup matches pitched Great Britain and Ireland against the United States, with the US winning 18, GB and Ireland three and one match, the famous 1969 contest, tied.

In 1979, Europe entered the fray, with Seve Ballesteros and Antonio Garrido becoming the first continental golfers to play in The Ryder Cup. In the subsequent 16 matches, Europe have won eight, the United States seven, with one match tied.

The Ryder Cup has become one of the world’s greatest sporting contests as every two years 24 of the best players from Europe and the United States go head-to-head in match play competition. Drama, tension, incredible golf, camaraderie and sportsmanship are served in equal measure, captivating an audience of millions around the world. It’s an event that transcends sport, yet remains true to the spirit of its founder, Samuel Ryder.

 Year  Venue  USA  Eur/GB/GBI  Winners
 2012 Medinah Country Club 13 ½ 14 ½ Europe
  Chicago, Illinois   
 2010  The Celtic Manor Resort  13 ½  14 ½  Europe
   City of Newport, Wales      
 2008  Valhalla Golf Club  16 ½  11 ½  USA
   Louisville, Kentucky      
 2006  The K Club 9 ½  18 ½   Europe
   Co. Kildare, Ireland      
 2004 Oakland Hills CC  9 ½  18 ½   Europe
   Bloomfield Township, MI, USA      
 2002  The Belfry  12 ½  15 ½    Europe
   Sutton Coldfield, England   
 1999 The Country Club   14 ½  13 ½  USA
  Brookline, MI, USA       
 1997 Valderrama GC  13 ½   14 ½  Europe
  Sotogrande, Spain       
 1995 Oak Hill CC   13 ½   14 ½  Europe
  Rochester, NY, USA       
 1993 The Belfry  15  13  USA 
  Sutton Coldfield, England      
 1991 The Ocean Course   14 ½  13 ½  USA
  Kiawah Island, SC, USA       
 1989 The Belfry  14  14  Tied 
  Sutton Coldfield, England       
 1987 Muirfield Village GC  13  15  Europe 
  Dublin, OH, USA       
 1985  The Belfry  11 ½ 16 ½ Europe 
  Sutton Coldfield, England      
 1983 PGA National GC  14 ½  13 ½  USA 
  Palm Beach Gardens, FL, USA       
 1981 Walton Heath GC  18 ½  9 ½  USA 
  Surrey, England       
 1979 The Greenbrier  17  11  USA 
  White Sulfer Springs, WV, USA       
 1977 Royal Lytham & St Annes  12 ½  7½  USA 
  St Annes, England       
 1975 Laurel Valley GC  21  11  USA 
  Ligonier, PA, USA       
 1973 Muirfield   19  13   USA 
  Edinburgh, Scotland   

 1971 Old Warson CC  18 ½  13 ½  USA 
  St Louis, MO, USA       
 1969 Royal Birkdale GC  16  16  Tied 
  Southport, England       
 1967 Champions GC  23 ½  8 ½  USA 
  Houston, Texas, USA       
 1965 Royal Birkdale GC 19 ½  12 ½  USA 
  Southport, England       
 1963 East Lake CC  23  USA 
  Atlanta, GA, USA       
 1961 Royal Lytham & St Anne's  14 ½  9 ½  USA 
  St Annes, England       
 1959 Eldorado CC  8 ½  ½  USA 
  Palm Desert, CA, USA       
 1957 Lindrick GC  4 ½  7 ½  GB&I 
  Yorkshire, England       
 1955 Thunderbird CC  USA 
  Palm Springs, CA, USA       
 1953 Wentworth GC  6 ½  5 ½  USA 
  Surrey, England       
 1951 Pinehurst GC  9 ½  2 ½  USA 
  Pinehurst, NC, USA       
 1949 Ganton GC   7   5   
  Scarborough, England 

 1947 Portland GC   11   1   
  Portland, OR, USA 

 1937 Southport & Ainsdale GC  USA 
  Southport, England       
 1935 Ridgewood CC  USA 
  Ridgewood, NJ, USA       
 1933 Southport & Ainsdale GC  5 ½  6 ½  GB&I 
  Southport, England       
 1931 Scioto CC  USA 
  Columbus, OH, USA       
 1929 Moortown GC  GB&I 
  Leeds, England       
 1927 Worcester CC  9 ½  2 ½  USA 
  Worcester, MA, USA       


Get Adobe Flash player

THE 2014 RYDER CUP Course Guide

GleneaglesCard of Course


Video Editor's ChoiceMore

Latest PhotosMore

  • George O'Grady with Jeremy Darroch, Chief Executive, BSkyB
  • Ryder Cup trophy arrives at Gleneagles
  • Miguel Angel Jimenez, Jose Maria Olazabal and Padraig Harrington
  • Paul McGinley
  • The completed European Ryder Cup side
  • Paul McGinley
  • Paul McGinley
  • European Ryder Cup captain Paul McGinley announcing his three captain's picks
  • RFID wristbands will be in operation during The 2014 Ryder Cup
  • The Ryder Cup trophy
  • Paul McGinley modelling the new Ryder Cup Fan Range
  • Ryder Cup commemorative bank note
  • (L-R) Mike Cantlay, Chairman of VisitScotland, along with Bathgate pro Stuart Callan and ClubGolf Manager Jackie Davidson
  • (L-R) Sandy Jones, Chief Executive Officer of the PGA, Richard Hills, Ryder Cup Europe Director with Patricia Fulton, Bob Reitemeier and David Holwell of the Samuel Ryder Foundation
  • Presiding Officer Tricia Marwick MSP pictured holding the Ryder Cup along with Sandy Jones, PGA Chief Executive (L) and Richard Hills, Director of Ryder Cup Europe
  • Presiding Officer Tricia Marwick MSP, Richard Hills, Director of Ryder Cup Europe and Sandy Jones, PGA Chief Executive with The official painting of The 2014 Ryder Cup which has gone on display at the Parliament
  • (L-R) First Minister of Scotland Alex Salmond, Presiding Officer of the Scottish Parliament Tricia Marwick, Chief Executive of the PGA Sandy Jones and Ryder Cup Director Richard Hills
  • Frank Boyle, artist and former cartoonist of the year
  • Alan Hansen with ClubGolf members from Prestonfield Golf Club at Edinburgh
  • Paul McGinley, M. Julien de Beaumarchais & Hugues Lechanoine presenting Mouton Cadet Ryder Cup Selection, the 2014 Ryder Cup Wine

Ryder Cup Official Partners

  • Rolex
  • BMW
  • walker
  • ernst
  • standardlife

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2014. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.