Sunday, 29 August 2010
Lee Westwood  (Getty Images)
Lee Westwood (Getty Images)

Lee Westwood led the nine automatic qualifiers for The European Ryder Cup team who will seek to regain The 2010 Ryder Cup at The Celtic Manor Resort from October 1-3.

The Englishman is the most experienced player among the automatic qualifiers and will be making his seventh Ryder Cup appearance. In 29 matches, he has won 14, lost ten, halved five and accumulated 16 ½ points. During that period he was unbeaten for 12 consecutive matches, equalling the Ryder Cup record.

Westwood, currently recovering from a calf injury, topped the World Points List and was joined by Rory McIlroy and US PGA Champion Martin Kaymer, both of whom will be making their Ryder Cup debuts, and US Open Champion Graeme McDowell, who makes his second appearance after an impressive debut two years ago at Valhalla where he won two matches, lost one and halved one.

From the European Points List, Ian Poulter will be making his third Ryder Cup appearance having previously represented Europe in 2004 and 2008, where he was Europe’s leading scorer. Ross Fisher, Francesco Molinari and Peter Hanson all qualified for their first Ryder Cup through the European Points List along with Miguel Angel Jiménez, who overtook Hanson in the final qualifying event to secure a place on The European Team for the fourth time.

Hanson and Jiménez were both under threat heading into the final qualifying event but held onto their places among the top nine by finishing joint 19th and joint third respectively at the Johnnie Walker Championship at Gleneagles,

European Captain Colin Montgomerie will announce his three wild cards at 18.30 BST during a press conference at Gleneagles when he will finalise his 12 man team tasked with regaining Samuel Ryder’s golden chalice following the US victory at Valhalla two years ago.

United States Captain Corey Pavin will select the final four players for his team on September 7 after the first eight members of the US Team was determined after the US PGA Championship.


Get Adobe Flash player

Video Editor's ChoiceMore

Latest PhotosMore

  • The Ryder Cup
  • L-R: Edward Kitson, Richard Hills and Guy Kinnings receive the BT Sports Industry Award for Event of the Year from Olympic and World Champion swimmer Adam Peaty
  • Francesco Molinari and Tommy Fleetwood
  • Padraig Harrington
  • Thomas Bjorn
  • Paul Casey
  • Ryder Cup Team Europe
  • Francesco Molinari after earning The Ryder Cup winning point
  • Golf in Piazza
  • Thomas Bjørn
  • Thorbjørn Olesen
  • Team Europe celebrate with the Ryder Cup
  • Jon Rahm
  • Jon Rahm
  • Ian Poulter and Sergio Garcia
  • Sergio Garcia
  • Francesco Molinari
  • Francesco Molinari celebrates with Thomas Bjorn
  •  Jon Rahm
  •  Ian Poulter celebrates winning his match on the 18th

Ryder Cup Official Partners

  • Rolex
  • BMW
  • standardlife

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2019. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.