• EN
  • DE
  • FR
  • ES
  • JP
Friday, 07 December 2012
George O'Grady, Chief Executive of The European Tour, and Britain's Olympic heptathlon champion Jessica Ennis at the SJA British Sports Awards where O'Grady collected the Sports Team of the Year Award on behalf of Europe's winning Ryder Cup Team   (Getty Images)
George O'Grady, Chief Executive of The European Tour, and Britain's Olympic heptathlon champion Jessica Ennis at the SJA British Sports Awards where O'Grady collected the Sports Team of the Year Award on behalf of Europe's winning Ryder Cup Team (Getty Images)

Europe’s magnificent 2012 Ryder Cup victory was recognised at the Sports Journalists’ Association British Sports Awards on Thursday, where Captain José María Olazábal and his men were named the Sports Team of the Year.

The European Ryder Cup Team staged an incredible comeback in Chicago in September, now known as the ‘Miracle of Medinah, overturning a 10-6 scoreline on the final day to beat the USA by the narrowest of margins after a spirited performance in the Singles matches.

At a celebration of Britain’s greatest sporting year in history, the European Team were runaway winners of the award, ahead of Olympic Rowers Anna Watkins and Katherine Grainger and third-placed Chelsea, the 2012 Champions League winners.

It is the sixth time Europe’s golfers have won the SJA Team of the Year award, and the fourth time in the last ten years.

George O’Grady, Chief Executive of The European Tour, collected the award at the Tower of London venue on behalf of the Ryder Cup Team.

He said: "This has been an incredible 12 months for sport, unquestionably highlighted by the staging in London of an inspirational Olympic Games, and for Europe's Ryder Cup Team to win this award in such a magical year is very special.

“I would like to thank all the members of the SJA for this award on behalf of José María Olazábal - who this week has been involved in a major junior initiative in Spain with Miguel Angel Jiménez - and his team and to say how much we appreciate your words and support which inspire and enrich everyone involved in the world of golf and sport."

The SJA awards were first staged in 1949 and are the country’s longest-running sports awards. They are voted by a membership of more than 750, made up of sports writers, broadcasters, photographers and editors.

Sir Michael Parkinson is the President of the SJA and presented O’Grady with the European Team’s award.

2012 SJA Roll of Honour
Sportsman of the Year: Bradley Wiggins (Cycling)
Sportswoman of the Year: Jessica Ennis (Athletics)
Sports Team of the Year: Europe Ryder Cup (Golf)
Paralympic sport (men): David Weir (Wheelchair Athletics)
Paralympic sport (women): Sarah Storey (Cycling)
Best International Newcomer: Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Football)
Outstanding Performance: Jessica Ennis (Athletics)
Outstanding Contribution to Sport: Lord Coe
Spirit of Sport: Jonnie Peacock (Paralympian)
President’s Award: Katherine Grainger and Anna Watkins (Rowing)
Chairman’s Award: Jonny Marray (Tennis)

Get Adobe Flash player

THE 2014 RYDER CUP Course Guide

GleneaglesCard of Course


Latest PhotosMore

  • George O'Grady with Jeremy Darroch, Chief Executive, BSkyB
  • Ryder Cup trophy arrives at Gleneagles
  • Miguel Angel Jimenez, Jose Maria Olazabal and Padraig Harrington
  • Paul McGinley
  • The completed European Ryder Cup side
  • Paul McGinley
  • Paul McGinley
  • European Ryder Cup captain Paul McGinley announcing his three captain's picks
  • RFID wristbands will be in operation during The 2014 Ryder Cup
  • The Ryder Cup trophy
  • Paul McGinley modelling the new Ryder Cup Fan Range
  • Ryder Cup commemorative bank note
  • (L-R) Mike Cantlay, Chairman of VisitScotland, along with Bathgate pro Stuart Callan and ClubGolf Manager Jackie Davidson
  • (L-R) Sandy Jones, Chief Executive Officer of the PGA, Richard Hills, Ryder Cup Europe Director with Patricia Fulton, Bob Reitemeier and David Holwell of the Samuel Ryder Foundation
  • Presiding Officer Tricia Marwick MSP pictured holding the Ryder Cup along with Sandy Jones, PGA Chief Executive (L) and Richard Hills, Director of Ryder Cup Europe
  • Presiding Officer Tricia Marwick MSP, Richard Hills, Director of Ryder Cup Europe and Sandy Jones, PGA Chief Executive with The official painting of The 2014 Ryder Cup which has gone on display at the Parliament
  • (L-R) First Minister of Scotland Alex Salmond, Presiding Officer of the Scottish Parliament Tricia Marwick, Chief Executive of the PGA Sandy Jones and Ryder Cup Director Richard Hills
  • Frank Boyle, artist and former cartoonist of the year
  • Alan Hansen with ClubGolf members from Prestonfield Golf Club at Edinburgh
  • Paul McGinley, M. Julien de Beaumarchais & Hugues Lechanoine presenting Mouton Cadet Ryder Cup Selection, the 2014 Ryder Cup Wine

Ryder Cup Official Partners

  • Rolex
  • BMW
  • walker
  • ernst
  • standardlife

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2014. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.