News All Articles
The Challenge Tour’s three-time winners club 

The Challenge Tour’s three-time winners club 

With the 2024 Road to Mallorca entering its second half, three players – Denmark’s Rasmus Neergaard-Petersen, Englishman John Parry and Spaniard Joel Moscatel – are just one victory away from joining a coveted list.

Only 11 players to date have achieved promotion from Challenge Tour to DP World Tour by winning three times in a single season, with Neergaard-Petersen, Parry and Moscatel now in pole position to fast-track their way to golf’s Global Tour.

Here are three players that have previously accomplished the feat.

Kristoffer Broberg

Kristoffer Broberg - 2012 Rolex Trophy Champion

Kristoffer Broberg’s automatic promotion to the DP World Tour in 2012 was sealed in historic fashion as the Swede secured three titles within a single month and after just five starts of his debut Challenge Tour season.

Broberg’s remarkable run began at the beginning of August 2012 with back-to-back wins. A dominant six-stroke victory at the Finnish Challenge was followed by a second just seven days later at the Norwegian Challenge.

Despite falling just short at the next event with a third-place finish at the Ecco Tour Championship, Broberg bounced back the following week to win his third title at the Rolex Trophy, just 21 days after his first win.

The 37-year-old remains the fastest player in Challenge Tour history to achieve three victories and – following another win later that year at the Crowne Plaza Copenhagen Challenge – he is also the most recent player to lift four titles in a single season.

Aaron Rai

Aaron Rai barclays kenya open

Aaron Rai recorded his trio of wins in the 2017 season, with his first coming in the season-opening Barclays Kenya Open after a final round 65 saw him top the leaderboard by three strokes. He added a second title two months later at the Andalucía Costa del Sol Match Play 9, before Rai secured his promotion with a third win at the 2017 Le Vaudreuil Golf Challenge, where he finished five strokes ahead of the field.

Rai would also have further success in 2017, winning U.S. Open qualifying at Walton Heath to make his major debut at Erin Hills.

Since his promotion, Rai has won two DP World Tour titles. His first came at the 2018 Honma Hong Kong Open, and he added a second title two years later at the Aberdeen Standard Investments Scottish Open, winning in a playoff against compatriot and fellow Challenge Tour graduate Tommy Fleetwood.

Benjamin Hébert

Benjamin Hebert - 2011 Rolex Trophy Champion

Benjamin Hébert is the only player to have won three events in multiple seasons, achieving this feat in both 2011 and 2014.

In 2011, Hébert's success began with consecutive victories in July at the Credit Suisse Challenge and English Challenge. He then secured his promotion with a one-stroke win at the Rolex Trophy the following month.

The Frenchman returned to the winner’s circle in 2014 at the Norwegian Challenge and Open Blue Green Côtes d'Armor Bretagne before a dominant performance at the Dubai Festival City Challenge Tour Grand Final earned him promotion once more.

Hébert’s six Challenge Tour titles are the most of any player on the 2024 Road to Mallorca and just two shy of the all-time record.

Read next