Lawlor relishing Northern Ireland return

Brendan Lawlor cannot wait to return to a site of former glories as he prepares to tee it up in the G4D @ ISPS Handa World Invitational presented by Aviv Clinics at Galgorm Castle Golf Club next week.

Brendan Lawlor

The Irishman won last year’s ISPS Handa World Disability Invitational and, in doing so, became World Number One on the WR4GD (World Ranking for Golfers with Disability) for the first time in his career.

It was Lawlor’s second victory in as many weeks as he also triumphed at the EDGA Cazoo Open played at Celtic Manor.

The 25-year-old now hopes that a return to a happy hunting ground can yield a maiden 2022 G4D (Golf for the Disabled) Tour victory after finishing runner-up, fourth and sixth in three starts so far this season. The G4D Tour @ ISPS Handa World Invitational presented by Aviv Clinics will take place at Galgorm Castle Golf Club from August 8-9.

“I’m extremely excited to get going in Galgorm,” said Lawlor. “It’s going to be a fantastic week. Obviously I have good memories last year, not just from the golf, but having the whole family round and what it has done for outside the game.

“So many people got in touch with me. The G4D Tour happened and disability golf was put on the map once again. That’s the message we’re striving for. We’re putting ourselves out there and more people are putting themselves out there. That’s the big thing we’re trying to do. When we’re on the golf course, we’re trying to play our best but we’re also trying to send a message of what can be done with limitations you might have.”

Lawlor is one of a ten-person field competing at the G4D @ ISPS Handa World Invitational, with the world’s best golfers with a disability competing across the inaugural 2022 season.

Confirmed field for G4D @ ISPS Handa World Invitational presented by Aviv Clinics

NameCountryWR4GD (Gross Ranking Week 30)
Brendan LawlorRepublic of Ireland#1
Kipp PopertEngland#2
Juan PostigoSpain#3
Chris BigginsUnited States#4
Tommaso PerrinoItaly#7
Bradley SmithEngland#8
David WattsSouth Africa#9
Johan KammerstadSweden#11
Conor StoneRepublic of Ireland#13
Rasmus LiaSweden#17