News All Articles
Fitzpatrick joins elite company with victory

Fitzpatrick joins elite company with victory

With this win: Matthew Fitzpatrick has joined an elite list of champions with his victory at the DP World Tour Championship

Matthew Fitzpatrick

The 26-year-old Englishman became the fourth player on the European Tour to win the DP World Tour Championship, Dubai on two separate occasions, having claimed the title in both 2016 and 2020.

Fitzpatrick, who carded a final round 68 to win his sixth European Tour and first Rolex Series title, now joins Henrik Stenson (2013 and 2014), Rory McIlroy (2012 and 2015) and Jon Rahm (2017 and 2019) as a two-time champion on the event, which only began in 2009.

Winners of the DP World Tour Championship, Dubai

Lee Westwood2009
Robert Karlsson2010
Álvaro Quirós2011
Rory McIlroy2012
Henrik Stenson2013
Henrik Stenson2014
Rory McIlroy2015
Matthew Fitzpatrick2016
Jon Rahm2017
Danny Willett2018
Jon Rahm2019
Matthew Fitzpatrick2020

With his win, Fitzpatrick will...

• Finish in second place on the 2020 Race to Dubai behind fellow Lee Westwood.

• Rise to a career-high of 16th in the Official World Golf Ranking.

• Becomes the ninth English winner of the season

• Become the 348th Englishman to win on the European Tour

Read next