News All Articles
Meet the teams - 2019 GolfSixes

Meet the teams - 2019 GolfSixes

The 2019 GolfSixes sees 16 international teams of two players go head-to-head in an innovative six-hole format.

Paul Dunne and Gavin Moynihan

So, without further ado, we introduce the 16 pairs that will battle it out on the Oitavos Dunes links.

Team Ireland: Paul Dunne & Gavin Moynihan

First up, defending champions Paul Dunne and Gavin Moynihan. At last year’s event, the duo, who were wildcards heading into the event, claimed victory over France to be crowned champions after some dramatic golf heading into the final.

In the group stages the pair were beaten by France, but two victories over Scotland and Italy saw the duo advance into the knockout stages. In the quarter-final, they cruised to a 2-0 victory over the England Women team of Charley Hull and Georgia Hall, followed by a play-off victory in the semi-final against South Korea. The duo then avenged their group stage loss to France in the final.

The 2018 GolfSixes Winners - Ireland's Gavin Moynihan and Paul Dunne

Team England: Tom Lewis & Paul Waring

Team England will be represented by two GolfSixes rookies in Tom Lewis and Paul Waring. The experienced Waring picked up his first victory on the European Tour in 2018, whereas Lewis will be looking to use his record in Portugal to his advantage. The young Englishman has two European Tour victories to his name, which both came at the Portugal Masters.

Team Australia: Scott Hend & Wade Ormsby

Both Scott Hend and Wade Ormsby have played in the GolfSixes previously, but this will be the first time they have represented Australia together. Hend made his Golf Sixes debut at the inaugural event in 2017, where he and Sam Brazel were beaten in final by Team Denmark. Ormsby replaced Hend in 2018, but could only make it as far as the semi-final when he and Brazel were defeated by France.

Team South Africa: Brandon Stone & George Coetzee

It is a similar story for Team South Africa, as Brandon Stone featured in the first edition of the event in 2017, with George Coetzee appearing at last year’s tournament. However, the duo will be hoping to improve on South Africa’s fortunes at the GolfSixes so far, as the team has never made it out of the group stages in their first two attempts.

Brandon Stone

Team Scotland: Stephen Gallacher & David Law

Representing Scotland are two winners on the European Tour this season in Stephen Gallacher and David Law. The latter picked up his maiden European Tour title at the ISPS Handa Vic Open, with Gallacher collecting his fourth Tour title at the Hero Indian Open.

To boot, Gallacher also has Ryder Cup match play experience on his side after being part of the winning European team in 2014.

Team Italy: Lorenzo Gagli & Edoardo Molinari

Lorenzo Gagli replaces Renato Paratore this year in Team Italy and will be hoping he can go all the way alongside Edoardo Molinari, who makes his second appearance at the event.

Team Sweden: Alexander Björk & Joakim Lagergren

Alexander Björk and Joakim Lagergren will tee it up alongside each other for a second consecutive year the 2019 GolfSixes. They were not able to advance past the group stages last year after narrowly missing out on a spot in the quarter finals as England Women progressed due to a superior number of holes won.

Team France: Romain Wattel & Victor Perez

At last year’s GolfSixes, Romain Wattel made it all the way to the final alongside Mike Lorenzo-Vera before being defeated by Team Ireland. This year, Wattel will be hoping he can go one better alongside debutant Victor Perez.

Romain Wattel and Michael Lorenzo-Vera celebrate

Team Spain: Jorge Campillo & Nacho Elvira

Jorge Campillo arrives in Cascais on the back of a strong year, which culminated in a maiden victory at the Trophée Hassan II and, alongside fellow GolfSixes rookie Nacho Elvira, he will be hoping to keep the momentum going with a win close to Portugal’s capital.

Team India: S.S.P Chawrasia & Gaganjeet Bhullar

Team India make their first appearance at the event since its inauguration in 2017. Once again S.S.P Chawrasia will fly the flag for India, but this time will be joined by Gaganjeet Bhullar – a recent winner at the Fiji International presented by Fiji Airways.

Team Thailand: Thongchai Jaidee & Phachara Khongwatmai

Thongchai Jaidee will continue his ever-present record at the GolfSixes when he tees it up for Thailand alongside Phachara Khongwatmai. Team Thailand will be hoping to advance past the quarter finals this year, after bowing out at that stage in their first two attempts.

Team Wales: Jamie Donaldson & Stuart Manley

Team Wales make their second appearance at the GolfSixes after missing out in 2018. Jamie Donaldson will once again lead out the Welsh team, this time alongside Stuart Manley. In 2017, Donaldson was unable to progress beyond the group stages alongside Bradley Dredge.


Team Portugal: Ricardo Gouveia & Pedro Figueiredo

Ricardo Gouveia and Pedro Figueiredo will no doubt be boosted by the fans as the home favourites this week. A win this week on home soil with be a first for both on the European Tour with Gouveia having triumphed three times on the European Challenge Tour while Figueiredo won once on his way to graduation in 2018.

Team England Women: Meghan MacLaren & Florentyna Parker

Once again, the GolfSixes will see women play alongside the men at this innovative event.Meghan MacLarenand Solheim Cup star Florentyna Parker will look to build on England Women’s success in 2018, where Charley Hull and Georgia Hall were defeated in the quarter finals by eventual winners Ireland.

Meghan MacLaren during her second round 65 at the Jordan Mixed Open presented by Ayla

Team Denmark: Joachim B. Hansen & Jeff Winther

After victory in the very first GolfSixes, followed by a play-off defeat in the group stages to the European Women pairing, Denmark have mixed things up with the pairing of Joachim B. Hansen and Jeff Winther taking the reins from Lucas Bjerregaard and Thorbjørn Olesen. Can this pair bring the title home to Denmark for a second time in three years?

Team Germany Women: Esther Henseleit & Laura Fuenfstueck

The final wildcard team is Team Germany, represented by Esther Henseleit and Laura Fuenfstueck. Henseleit has just embarked on her maiden season on the Ladies European Tour, with Fuenfstueck enjoying her second spell on Tour after winning the SA Women’s Masters on the Sunshine Ladies Tour last year.

Read next