News All Articles
What happens when your ball hits a power line? 

What happens when your ball hits a power line? 

What is the rule if your ball hits a power line?

It's a challenge players are facing at this week's Italian Open, which takes place at Chervò Golf Club for the very first time.

power lines Italian Open

The course, which is next to Lake Garda and was established in 2008, sees power cables run across several holes of the golf course. This week, they are likely to be in play on four different holes: The second, fourth, fifth and 12th.

According to European Tour Chief Referee Mark Litton, this situation is not uncommon, and he says the probability is high that more than one player will hit one of the power lines this week.

“I will be amazed if this doesn’t occur a few times during the week because there are certainly two holes where shots are being hit between the cables,” he said.

Local Rule E-11, which falls under special or required relief procedures, will be adopted here. It states:

“If it is known or virtually certain that a player’s ball hit a power line or tower or a wire or pole supporting a power line during the play of specify hole number, the stroke does not count. The player must play a ball without penalty from where the previous stroke was made (see Rule 14.6 for what to do).

Under rule 14.6.a, if a stroke is made from the Teeing area, the original ball or another ball must be played from anywhere inside the teeing area (and may be teed).

Under rule 14.6.b, if the stroke is made from a general area, penalty area or bunker, this original ball or another ball must be dropped in this relief area, no nearer the hole. The shot should be replayed within one club-length of where the previous stroke was made (which if not known must be estimated).

Read next