News All Articles
Which formats are played on the European Tour?

Which formats are played on the European Tour?

During a European Tour season, many different formats are played.

GolfSixes photo

Predominantly European Tour tournaments are strokeplay events contested over four days, where the player who takes the fewest strokes to complete 72 holes is crowned as champion.

But as part of the European Tour’s drive to innovate, there are a number of unique events on its International Schedule which are different to traditional golf tournaments.

Some feature both strokeplay and matchplay sections in the same event, such as the Belgian Knockout and the ISPS Handa World Super 6 Perth.

The Belgian Knockout – which was set up in 2017 by Ryder Cup star Thomas Pieters in his home country – features two days of regular 36-hole strokeplay, before a matchplay section over the weekend.

During those matches players compete in nine-hole strokeplay contests, meaning every match is guaranteed to come down the last hole, making for an exciting atmosphere on the closing stretch.

Benjamin Hebert BKO

First established in 2017, the ISPS Handa World Super 6 Perth also features both strokeplay and matchplay in the same tournament. The first three days – 54 holes – are played as traditional strokeplay, with the final 24 players competing in six-hole knockout matches.

GolfSixes – launched in 2017 – comprises of a series of six-hole matches, between 16 teams of two players. Unlike most events GolfSixes is played over just two days – instead of the traditional four.

The first day's play splits the teams into four groups of four. The winner of each match is the team with the most holes won after a six-hole contest.

In the group stages three points are given for winning a match, with one point given for a draw.

The top two teams from each group progress to the knockout stages – the quarter-finals, the semi-finals, a third/fourth place play-off match and the final – all of which are contested on the second and final day.

Jaidee and Khongwatmai

The event has included both male and female professional golfers, and sees different countries go head-to-head for the same prize. Since its inception in 2017, teams from Denmark (Lucas Bjerregaard and Thorbjørn Olesen), Ireland (Gavin Moynihan and Paul Dunne), and Thailand (Thongchai Jaidee and Phachara Khongwatmai) have all won GolfSixes.