Home Rankings News
European Tour nominated in 2020 Sports Industry Awards
Corporate News

European Tour nominated in 2020 Sports Industry Awards

The Content Committee: European Tour Rebrand

The European Tour has been shortlisted for two 2020 Sports Industry Awards – receiving nominations in the Creative Content Award category, for ‘The Content Committee’, and the Data and Business Impact Award category for the BMW PGA Championship.

It is the fourth successive year in which the European Tour has been nominated in the awards, winning the Social Media Campaign of the Year for Access All Areas in 2018 and picking up the Event of the Year Award in 2019 for The 2018 Ryder Cup at Le Golf National, Paris.

The Content Committee was released at the first Rolex Series event of the European Tour’s 2019 Race to Dubai. Tired of being asked to take part in ‘viral’ videos by ‘media types’, five European Tour stars decided to take matters into their own hands and assemble The Content Committee.

Ahead of the Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship, Thomas Bjørn, Tommy Fleetwood, Eddie Pepperell, Henrik Stenson and Lee Westwood got together to thrash out an all-new content strategy for the European Tour in 2019.

Convinced they could come up with better concepts on their own, the results speak for themselves. Watch the video here.

The 2019 BMW PGA Championship was one of the most successful in the event's long history, as home hero Danny Willett claimed his first Rolex Series title in front of 109,664 across the week at Wentworth Club.

Honouring the work done across the sport business sector, the Sport Industry Awards bring together the great and the good of sport under one roof for an evening of success, sharing and celebration. Welcoming more than 1,700 high profile guests annually, #SIAwards2020 is the most prestigious commercial sports awards in the world, and has been the industry’s flagship evening for nearly 20 years.

The night itself will be hosted by former international footballer Alex Scott MBE and TV personality Mark Durden-Smith, both ready to welcome a string of celebrities to the incredible celebration.

Last year high-profile attendees at the ceremony in London included England and Manchester City star Raheem Sterling, England Manager Gareth Southgate, former Prime Minister Tony Blair, Baroness Valerie Amos, Britain’s most decorated female Olympian Dame Katherine Grainger, swimming sensation Adam Peaty, racing’s Sir AP McCoy and rising athletics star Laura Muir.

The Official Shortlist, in full, can be read here: https://www.sportindustry.biz/sia/2020/shortlist