Essential Guide: Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship presented by EGA

The Rolex Series returns on the European Tour at the 2020 Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship presented by EGA, with some of the world’s best golfers on show in the Middle East.

Shane Lowry during the second round in Abu Dhabi

The tournament winner will become the first Rolex Series champion of the decade, with last year’s champion Shane Lowry looking to defend his Abu Dhabi title.

Here’s everything you need to know ahead of the first Rolex Series event of the year.

Where is the Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship?

The 2020 edition of the Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship presented by EGA will be hosted for the 15th consecutive year at the iconic Abu Dhabi Golf Club. The course features lush fairways accompanied by strategically placed bunkers and immaculate greens.

Often described as “an oasis of tranquillity carved out of desert,” this course is unique in so many ways such as the high-rise skyline of Abu Dhabi city, which is visible on almost every hole, and the famous Falcon Clubhouse.

Falcon Clubhouse

Who is playing in the Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship?

There are a whole host of the world’s best players playing in the first Rolex Series event of the year, including defending champion Shane Lowry, 2017 and 2018 winner Tommy Fleetwood and former Rolex Series winners Bernd Wiesberger and Danny Willett. There are also several Major Champions in the field including Sergio Garcia, Martin Kaymer and Louis Oosthuizen, as well as current World Number One Brooks Koepka.

How do I buy tickets?

Tickets are available to purchase for all four days of the tournament by clicking here.

The Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship presented by EGA will also host the first Hero Challenge of the decade. Fans can register for free tickets by clicking here.

Who has won this event in the past?

This event has been part of the European Tour International Schedule since 2006, with Chris DiMarco winning the inaugural event. Since then, several Ryder Cup stars including Paul Casey, Jamie Donaldson, Martin Kaymer, Tommy Fleetwood and Rickie Fowler have all been victorious at Abu Dhabi Golf Club.

Kaymer is a three-time winner of this event and only he (2010-11) and Fleetwood (2017-18) have won this event in consecutive years. Casey is the only other multiple winner of this event, claiming victory in 2007 and 2009.

Tommy Fleetwood

What is the Rolex Series?

The Rolex Series compromises eight of the most prestigious tournaments on the European Tour’s International Schedule and begins at the Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship presented by EGA, with each of the eight tournaments having a minimum prize fund of USD$7 million.

After the opening event in the Middle East, the Rolex Series visits Ireland in May for the Dubai Duty Free Irish Open, where current Race to Dubai Champion Jon Rahm has taken home the spoils in two of the last three years.

Two months later, in July, the Rolex Series hops across to Scotland for the Aberdeen Standard Investments Scottish Open before Wentworth Club hosts the BMW PGA Championship in September. A month later, in October, the Italian Open showcases some of the European Tour’s best golfers.

However, November really is crunch time as the European Tour’s Race to Dubai concludes with the final three Rolex Series events of the year at the Turkish Airlines Open, Nedbank Golf Challenge hosted by Gary Player and the DP World Tour Championship.

Don’t forget, you can keep up with all the latest European Tour action by downloading our IOS and Android apps through the App Store and Play Store.

Read next