News All Articles
Who has the most wins in Staysure Tour history? 

Who has the most wins in Staysure Tour history? 

The Staysure Tour has seen many winners since it was founded in 1992. We take a look at the five players who have the most wins in Staysure Tour history.

Carl Mason Benahavis Senior Masters

Carl Mason: 25

Carl Mason has won an incredible 25 times on the over 50s circuit since his debut on the Tour in 2003.

His first outing on the Staysure Tour came at the Ryder Cup Wales Seniors Open where he finished tied sixth. The following week, in his second appearance, he won his first Staysure Tour title at the Mobile Cup at Stoke Park Country Club.

It was the first of four victories in his rookie season, where he would go to lift the John Jacobs Trophy, topping the Order of Merit with over 350,000 points.

The following season saw him defend his John Jacobs Trophy as he sealed five titles, with the first coming at the opening event of 2004 in Tobago, while he won his fourth and fifth events back-to-back at the Daily Telegraph Turismo Andaluz European Seniors Match Play Championship and the ADT English Seniors Open in September.

He won two more over 50s titles in 2005, with the first coming at De Vere Northumberland Seniors Classic before he succeeded again the following week at the Ryder Cup Wales Seniors Open, where he finished the event as the only player under par at five under.

In 2006, the Englishman clinched back-to-back wins on home soil at the European Senior Masters and the Midas Group English Seniors Open, before a third title of the season was sealed at the Estoril Seniors Open of Portugal, en route to ending the year second on the Order of Merit.

Carl Mason John Jacobs Trophy 2007

However, 2007 saw him return to the number one spot after winning five times during the campaign. He won his second Ryder Cup Wales Seniors Open title and defended the European Senior Masters, with wins also at the Bad Ragaz PGA Seniors Open, PGA Seniors Championship and the OKI Castellon Open de Espana Senior, taking his tally to 19 senior wins in five years.

Six more wins came in the next four seasons, including two in 2011 as he overtook the great Tommy Horton’s record of 23 and set his own at 25 titles, with his last victory at the Benahavis Senior Masters in 2011.

Tommy Horton: 23

- Set the original record at 23 before Mason broke it in 2011

- Won at least one event a season from 1992-2000

- Won a record six events in 1997 – a record that has never been matched

Neil Coles: 15

- The oldest man to win on the Staysure Tour when he won the 2002 Lawrence Batley Seniors at a remarkable 67 years and 276 days

- First victory was 1987 Senior Open

- Last victory was Lawrence Batley Seniors

Sam Torrance: 11

- Four victories in 2006 to win the OOM

- Won once each season from 2004 to 2009

Brian Huggett: 10

- Won the 2000 Beko Classic, six months after turning 63

- Won two events in the opening senior season in 1992

- Won twice in 1993 and 1995, including once in 1994

- Two more wins came in 1998, including Senior Open, before the final victory in 2000

Read next