News All Articles
What is the Staysure Tour?

What is the Staysure Tour?

The Staysure Tour, formerly known as the European Senior Tour, is a men’s professional golf tour for members aged 50 and older.

Phillip Price John Jacobs Trophy

Five years after the first edition of The Senior Open, won by Neil Coles in 1987, more than 60 professionals called for a formally-structed Tour, which was then created in 1992. Many of the pioneering champions who played on the European Tour during the 1970s, 80s and 90s make up the Staysure Tour’s active membership which, in 2017, included eight Ryder Cup Captains, 29 former Ryder Cup players, nine Major Champions and 73 European Tour winners.

Miguel Angel Jimenez wins the Senior Open presented by Rolex

Former Ryder Cup Captains Colin Montgomerie, Sam Torrance and Ian Woosnam are among the winners of the John Jacobs Trophy, which is awarded to the golfer who finishes first on the Staysure Tour Order of Merit each season. Former Ryder Cup player, the late Tommy Horton is the record winner of the Trophy, winning his first in 1993 and four consecutively from 1996-99.

United Kingdom-based insurance company Staysure became the first ever title sponsor of the European Senior Tour on January 2, 2018 at the start of the Tour’s 27th season. The deal includes the incorporation of a new headline event, the Staysure PGA Seniors Championship.