Friday, 19 March 2010

• Defending champion Geoff Ogilvy will attempt to become only the second player to successfully defend the WGC – CA Championship. He would join Tiger Woods (2002-03, 05-07).

• Following on from his victory in the WGC – Accenture Match Play, Geoff Ogilvy will attempt to join Tiger Woods as the only players to win consecutive WGC events.

• In 2007 Tiger Woods created European Tour history by becoming the first player to win the same European Tour International Schedule event on six occasions. The winning years were: 1999, 2002, 2003, 2005, 2006 and 2007. He matched this feat later on in the 2007 season by winning the WGC – Bridgestone Invitational for a record-equalling sixth time also.

• His 2007 WGC – CA Championship victory saw Tiger Woods create a further record by becoming the first player to win two different European Tour events for three consecutive years. The first tournament he won  three years in succession was the WGC – Bridgestone Invitational between 1999-01.

• There will be a total of 52 European Tour Members competing in second WGC event of 2009. Of that 52, Thomas Aiken will be making his first appearance in a WGC event. Other Members playing for the first time in the WGC – CA Championship are: Richard Finch, Anthony Kim, Pablo Larrazabal, Lin Wen-tang, Prayad Marksaeng, Rory McIlroy, Alvaro Quiros and Oliver Wilson.

Get Adobe Flash player

R2D Fantasy

European Tour Partners

  • Rolex
  • BMW
  • Callaway
  • D P World
  • Dubai Duty Free
  • Emirates
  • Hilton
  • Workday

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2019. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.