Tuesday, 18 August 2009

• Kennemer Golf and Country Club witnessed a marathon play-off in 1989 with José Maria Olazábal claiming victory at the ninth extra hole, beating Roger Chapman and Ronan Rafferty. The Englishman bogeyed the first hole and was eliminated. Olazábal and Rafferty went a further eight holes, before the 1994 and 1999 Masters Champion took the title with a double-bogey six. This play-off still stands as the longest in European Tour history. However, it was Rafferty who had the final word. The Northern Irishman holed a five foot putt to win the Volvo Masters and pip Olazábal in the race to win The European Tour Order of Merit, with the Spaniard finishing the season in second place.

• The KLM Open has a unique place in the history of The European Tour. Seve Ballesteros (1976 , aged 19 and 121 days) and Paul Way (1983, 19 and 149 days), meaning  this event is the only one to witness two teenage winners.

• In 2008 Darren Clarke became the first Irishman to win The KLM Open. He will be aiming to become the first player to successfully The KLM Open since American, Bob Byman  in   1977-78.

Get Adobe Flash player

R2D Fantasy

European Tour Partners

  • BMW
  • Emirates
  • Titleist
  • Rolex

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2017. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.