Monday, 02 November 2009

• David Howell won the first WGC - HSBC Champions with a record 72 hole score for the event of 268 (-20). He is the only winner to record all four rounds in the 60s.

• Y E Yang claimed his first European Tour International Schedule at the 2007 HSBC Champions. He became just the third Korean to win on The European Tour, joining K J Choi (2003 Mercedes-Benz Championship) and Charlie Wi (2006 Maybank Malaysian Open).

• The 2008 version saw Phil Mickelson win his first title outside of the United States since the 1993 Tournoi Perrier Paris, when he defeated Ross Fisher and Lee Westwood. Mickelson’s final round of 76 (+4) was the highest final round score by a winner on the 2008 European Tour.

• Sergio Garcia will attempt to successfully defend a European Tour title for the first time in his career, after defeating Oliver Wilson in a two hole play-off  in November 2008

• Tiger Woods holds the record for most individual WGC victories, with 16. Seven have come in the WGC – Bridgestone Invitational, six in the WGC – CA Championship and three in the WGC – Accenture Match Play. His 16 triumphs have come from just 30 appearances

• From those 30 appearances he has won 16, finished second twice and been placed in the top ten 28 times.

• After Woods, Geoff Ogilvy is the next most prolific winner, with three; twice at the WGC -  Accenture Match Play in 2006 and 2009 and WGC – CA Championship in 2008.

• China will be the sixth different country to stage an individual WGC event. The other five are: Australia, England, Ireland, Spain and the USA

Get Adobe Flash player

R2D Fantasy

European Tour Partners

  • Rolex
  • BMW
  • Emirates
  • Titleist

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2017. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.