Tournament History

The 140th edition of The Open Championship sees golf's oldest Major Championship return to Royal St George's, which last hosted the Championship in 2003 when American Ben Curtis captured the famous Claret Jug. Steeped in history, The Open was first played in 1860, when Willie Park Snr won the title at Prestwick, and celebrated its 150th anniversary last year at The Home of Golf, St Andrews, when South African Louis Oosthuizen claimed his maiden Major Championship. Rotating between some of the great links courses in Britain, The Open Championship is one of golf's most sought after prizes.

Past Winners

Tournament & Venue
Winner & Prize Fund
2011Jul 14
2010Jul 15
2009Jul 16
2008Jul 17
2007Jul 19
2006Jul 20
2005Jul 14
2004Jul 15
2003Jul 17
2002Jul 18
2001Jul 19
2000Jul 20
1999Jul 15
1998Jul 16
1997Jul 17
1996Jul 18
1995Jul 20
1994Jul 14
1993Jul 15
1992Jul 16
1991Jul 18
1990Jul 19
1989Jul 20
1988Jul 14
1987Jul 16
1986Jul 17
1985Jul 18
1984Jul 19
1983Jul 14
1982Jul 15
1981Jul 16
1980Jul 17
1979Jul 18
1978Jul 12
1977Jul 06
1976Jul 07
1975Jul 09
1974Jul 10
1973Jul 11
1972Jul 12



European Tour Partners

  • BMW
  • Emirates
  • UPS
  • Rolex
  • Rolex

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2015. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.