Friday, 06 January 2012


• Defending champion, Charl Schwatzel will attempt continue with his outstanding  record  in European Tour events co-sanctioned with the Sunshine Tour. He has played in 26 tournaments, making 23 cuts, winning four times, runner-up five times and been placed in the top ten on 13 occasions overall.

• Should the current Masters Tournament Champion triumph for a third consecutive time, he would join a select band of players to win the same official European Tour event three years in succession. The other players to achieve this feat are: Ian Woosnam (1990-92 Monte Carlo Open), Sir Nick Faldo (1991-93 Irish Open), Colin Montgomerie (1998-2000 PGA Championship), Ernie Els (2002-04 Heineken Classic) and Tiger Woods (2005-07 WGC – CA Championship and WGC – Bridgestone Invitational).

• The Joburg Open has the largest field of the season, with 2010 players; 206 professionals and four amateurs.

• The Joburg Open is currently one of only three events on the 2012 Schedule which plays on two or more courses. The other two are the Alfred Dunhill Links Championship and the Barclays Singapore Open.


Get Adobe Flash player

Tournament Leaderboard

Pos Player nameNatHolePar
1GRACE, BrandenRSA18-17
2ELSON, JamieENG18-16
T3WARREN, MarcSCO18-14
T3VAN ZYL, JacoRSA18-14
T3FISHER JNR, TrevorRSA18-14
R2D Fantasy

European Tour Partners

  • Rolex
  • BMW
  • Emirates
  • Titleist

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2017. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.