Wednesday, 01 May 2013
Ricardo Santos   (Getty Images)
Ricardo Santos (Getty Images)
A total of eight former champions will return to the Madeira Islands Open – BPI – Portugal hoping to re-enact their moments of glory when the 2013 edition takes place at Clube de Golf do Santo da Serra this month.

Ricardo Santos will defend his title after claiming his maiden European Tour title last year, a win which went a long way in earning him the honour of the Sir Henry Cotton Rookie of the Year.

The Vilamoura native became the first Portuguese to win on home soil and is sure to receive a hero’s reception on his return this year.

Estanislao Goya, meanwhile, will also be hoping to relive past glories as he returns to the tournament which counts as his only European tour win thus far, having eked out a one-stroke victory at Porto Santo Golf as a 20 year old in 2009.

Goya, a two-time winner on the European Challenge Tour, has struggled for form this year but will be hoping memories of that victory four years ago can give his season a timely boost.

Alastair Forsyth (2008), Daniel Vancsik (2007), Robert-Jan Derkson (2005), Bradley Dredge (2003), Niclas Fasth (2000) and Jarmo Sandelin (1996) are the other former champions who will be looking to add to their trophy haul at Clube de Golf do Santo da Serra.

Get Adobe Flash player

Tournament Leaderboard

Pos Player nameNatHolePar
1UIHLEIN, PeterUSA18-15
T2MADSEN, Morten ØrumDEN18-13
T2TULLO, MarkCHI18-13
4LEE, CraigSCO18-12
T5KAKKO, RoopeFIN18-9
R2D Fantasy

European Tour Partners

  • Rolex
  • BMW
  • Emirates
  • Titleist

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2017. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.