• In 1946 the first staging of the event took place and ended in a tie between Bobby Locke and Jimmy Adams. Both recorded 72 hole totals of 286. It is the only time in the event’s history the championship was tied.

• Golfing history was made in 1967 when Tony Jacklin won at Royal St George’s. His final round of 64 included a hole-in-one at the par three 16th. It was the first time an ace was witnessed on British television.

• Two months after winning the 1988 Masters Tournament at Augusta National, Sandy Lyle made it a unique double with victory in the British Masters. As a result claiming the £41,660 first prize, the Scotsman became the first British player to pass £1 million in European Tour Official Career Earnings.

• The final round of the 2000 event saw Roger Chapman and Alastair Forsyth paired together over Woburn’s Dukes Course. Both golfers recorded holes-in-one, Forsyth at the second and Chapman six holes later at the eighth. This represented the last time on the European Tour that two players in the same group both had holes-in-one in the same round.

• This will be the first time the tournament has been staged at The Grove. The only previous European Tour event to be staged at the Hertfordshire course was the 2006 WGC – American Express Championship, won by Tiger Woods.

• There are 12 players competing this week in the British Masters supported by Sky Sports who played in the 2006 WGC – American Express Championship at The Grove. They are: Luke Donald, Trevor Immelman, Thongchai Jaidee, David Howell, José Maria Olazábal, Robert Karlsson, Johan Edfors, Lee Westwood, Simon Dyson, Thomas Bjørn, Anthony Wall and Grégory Bourdy.

• To highlight the quality of the field, there are six Major Champions, three European Tour Number Ones, two World Number Ones, 84 European Tour winners and 20 Ryder Cup players competing this week.

• To highlight the quality of the winners of the British Masters, there have been 13 different Major Champions who have claimed this crown. They are: Bobby Locke (1946 and 1954), Max Faulkner (1951), Peter Thomson (1961 and 1968), Tony Jacklin (1967 and 1973), Bob Charles (1972), Bernhard Langer (1980), Greg Norman (1981 and 1982), Ian Woosnam (1983 and 1994), Lee Trevino (1985), Seve Ballesteros (1986 and 1991), Sandy Lyle (1988), Sir Nick Faldo (1989) and Justin Rose (2002).

• Should Matthew Fitzpatrick make a successful defence of his title he won in 2015, he would become the youngest Englishman to win the same European Tour event in back-to-back years, aged 22 years and 45 days. The current English record is held by Sir Nick Faldo, aged 23 years and 311 days, when he won his second consecutive PGA Championship in 1981.


Get Adobe Flash player

Tournament Leaderboard

Pos Player nameNatHolePar
1NOREN, AlexSWE18-18
T4LEVY, AlexanderFRA18-13
T4MCDOWELL, GraemeNIR18-13
T4BLAND, RichardENG18-13
T4HANSON, PeterSWE18-13
T9HATTON, TyrrellENG18-12
T9STERNE, RichardRSA18-12


British Masters supported by Sky Sports Course Guide

European Tour Partners

  • Rolex
  • BMW
  • Callaway
  • D P World
  • Dubai Duty Free
  • Emirates
  • Hilton
  • Workday

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2019. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.