Dubai Duty Free Irish Open hosted by the Rory Foundation
Portstewart GC, Co. Derry / Co. Londonderry, United Kingdom - Northern Ireland 06 Jul 2017 - 09 Jul 2017
Sunday, 09 July 2017
Jon Rahm  (European Tour)
Jon Rahm (European Tour)
All the best facts and figures following Jon Rahm's stunning victory at the Dubai Duty Free Irish Open hosted by the Rory Foundation.

- His first European Tour International Schedule victory in his eighth official European Tour event

- His second victory on either side of the Atlantic little more than a year after turning professional

- Moves him to 2,653,883 points in the Race to Dubai, remaining in third place just behind Sergio Garcia

- Moves him back into the top ten in the Official World Golf Ranking, to as high as eighth

- At 24 under par, wins win the lowest total in Dubai Duty Free Irish Open

- Tops Brandon Stone's 22 under par winning total at the Alfred Dunhill Championship as the lowest winning total in the 2017 season

- Becomes the first player to make four eagles on way to victory since Rory McIlroy at the 2014 BMW PGA Championship

- Made 27 birdies or better - the best of any winner this season

- Becomes the first player to shoot five under par (or better) on all four rounds this season

- Becomes the seventh player in the last five years to record his first European Tour win within his first ten events

- Six shots is the fourth biggest winning margin in Irish Open history

- Becomes the first Spanish winner of a Rolex Series event

- Becomes the fifth youngest Spaniard to win in European Tour history (after Seve Ballesteros, Sergio Garcia, Jose Maria Olazabal and Pablo Martin, who all won before their 21st birthdays)

- Becomes the first Spanish winner of the Dubai Duty Free Irish Open since Sergio Garcia in 1999

- At 22, becomes the youngest winner of the Dubai Duty Free Irish Open since Shane Lowry in 2009

- The sixth Spanish victory at the Dubai Duty Free Irish Open from the fourth different player after Seve Ballesteros (1983, 1985 and 1986), José Maria Olazábal (1990) and Sergio Garcia (1999)

- The fourth Spanish victory on the European Tour this year, after Sergio Garcia at the Omega Dubai Desert Classic and the Masters Tournament and Alvaro Quiros at the Rocco Forte Open - Verdura, Sicily

- The 176th European Tour victory for a player from Spain

- The seventh first-time winner on the European Tour this season, after Harold Varner III (Australian PGA Championship), Sam Brazel (UBS Hong Kong Open), Dean Burmester (Tshwane Open), Matt Wallace (Open de Portugal at Morgado Golf Resort), Renato Paratore (Nordea Masters) and Dylan Frittelli (LYONESS OPEN powered by ORGANIC+)

Get Adobe Flash player

Tournament Leaderboard

Pos Player nameNatHolePar
1RAHM, JonESP18-24
T2RAMSAY, RichieSCO18-18
T2SOUTHGATE, MatthewENG18-18
T4FOX, RyanNZL18-17
T4ROSE, JustinENG18-17

European Tour Partners

  • Rolex
  • BMW
  • Callaway
  • Dubai Duty Free
  • Emirates
  • Hilton

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2018. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.