Wednesday, 30 January 2019
Jeunghun Wang  (Getty Images)
Jeunghun Wang (Getty Images)

Jeunghun Wang, winner of the Commercial Bank Qatar Masters in 2017, is looking forward to returning to Doha Golf Club, site of his third European Tour title, from March 7-10.

After winning the Trophée Hassan II and AfrAsia Bank Mauritius Open in 2016, Wang was named Sir Henry Cotton Rookie of the Year, and he then secured his third European Tour victory at the age of just 21 years and 144 days after defeating Joakim Lagergren and Jaco Van Zyl in a play-off.

With a birdie on the first extra hole, Wang became the third-youngest player to win three titles after Matteo Manassero and Seve Ballesteros.

“I’m very excited to return to Qatar,” said Wang. “It was my first time playing the Qatar Masters in 2017, so to come away with the win was very satisfying.

“It’s never easy when you’re in a play-off, so I was very pleased to come out on top against two very good golfers.”

Also set to join Wang in the field are fellow former champions Paul Lawrie and Robert Karlsson. Lawrie, winner of The Open in 1999, finished four strokes ahead of Jason Day and Peter Hanson to win in 2012, while Karlsson, European Tour Number One in 2008, beat Alvaro Quiros by three strokes to win in 2010.

The 22nd edition of the Commercial Bank Qatar Masters takes place on the Peter Harradine-designed Championship Course at Doha Golf Club from March 7-10.

Get Adobe Flash player

Tournament Leaderboard

Pos Player nameNatHolePar
1HARDING, JustinRSA18-13
T2CHOI, JinhoKOR18-11
T2COETZEE, GeorgeRSA18-11
T2BEZUIDENHOUT, ChristiaanRSA18-11

European Tour Partners

  • Rolex
  • BMW
  • Callaway
  • D P World
  • Dubai Duty Free
  • Emirates
  • Hilton
  • Workday

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2019. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.