Tuesday, 03 September 2019
MCB Tour Championship - Seychelles  (Getty Images)
MCB Tour Championship - Seychelles (Getty Images)

The MCB Tour Championship – Mauritius was first played on the Staysure Tour International Schedule in 2011, when former World Number One and 1996 Open champion Tom Lehman clinched the inaugural title.

The championship has continued to feature on the over-50s circuit for over nine years, with the quality of field matching the status of the maiden winner of the event.

Held at Constance Belle Mare Plage each year, the eagerly contested event is played at one of the world’s most picturesque settings with the Indian Ocean and sandy white beaches the backdrop for one of the most exciting events on the seniors’ schedule.

Lehman won the first edition of the event in 2011 before David Frost of South Africa claimed his second over-50s victory on the island, having previously lifted the 2011 Mauritius Commercial Bank Open title – the precursor to the MCB Tour Championship - Mauritius.

In 2013, Englishman Paul Wesselingh began a four-year period of British success at the event. The six-time PGA Cup player clinched the win by four strokes ahead of defending champion Frost and continued his success 12 months later by claiming back-to-back titles.

Eight-time European Tour number one Colin Montgomerie maintained the British winning streak in Mauritius, winning his eighth Staysure Tour title on the sun-kissed island. Montgomerie’s 1993 Ryder Cup teammate Barry Lane held off the challenge of the Scotsman and Paul Broadhurst to become the 2016 winner.

Thaworn Wiratchant was the Mauritian champion in 2017 as he clinched his first Staysure Tour victory at the season-ending event. The Thai’s 23 under par total wasn’t just the lowest ever score at the MCB Tour Championship – Mauritius, it was also the lowest ever 54-hole total on the Staysure Tour. Clark Dennis, equalled Wiratchant’s score the following year to become the first American since Lehman to lift the trophy.

2018 was a prominent year for the MCB Tour Championship as the MCB Tour Championship – Seychelles joined the International Schedule to form a two-legged Indian Ocean Swing, where players battled it out in Mauritius before travelling to the paradise island of Seychelles for the season-ending event.

England’s Roger Chapman was crowned the debut MCB Tour Championship – Seychelles champion in 2018, and also became the ‘King of the Swing’ after finishing third in Mauritius before reigning victorious a week later in Seychelles. 

Get Adobe Flash player

Tour Title Sponsor

  • Staysure

Staysure Tour Sponsors

  • Rolex
  • Callaway
  • Emirates
  • asbrigolf

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2019. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.