News All Articles
South African pair pull clear in Limpopo

South African pair pull clear in Limpopo

Louis de Jager and Jacques Kruyswijk both fired eight under par rounds of 64 at Koro Creek Golf Club to take a share of the lead into the weekend at the Limpopo Championship.

Louis de Jager

The South African pair hold a two-shot advantage on 13 under par over their teenage compatriot Wilco Nienaber on another day where homegrown players continued to dominate.

De Jager followed a flawless five under par opening round of 67 at Euphoria Golf Club with a second consecutive bogey-free round on day two, this time at co-host venue Koro Creek.

The 32-year-old, a five-time Sunshine Tour winner, is bidding for his first European Challenge Tour title and took a step closer to that goal with three birdies over his closing four holes.

“I’m really happy with that round out there today,” he said. “The windy was gusty and was blowing all kinds of directions. It wasn’t constant at all, but I putted well and I’m really happy to get it around in that score.

“It’s a strong golf course out there today. You have to get it away off the tee and hit it straight, which suits me, and I managed to do that really well. I’m the perfect position heading into the weekend, so I’m looking forward to going out there again tomorrow.”

Kruyswijk also maintained the momentum from an opening five under par round of 67, reeling off seven birdies and an eagle on day two to climb to the top of the leaderboard.

South African Hennie du Plessis, who returned to action at the end of last year from a lengthy injury, occupies solo fourth place, one shot clear of first round leader Daniel van Tonder and defending champion JC Ritchie.

Welshman Rhys Enoch carded the tied low-round of the day, a scintillating eight under par round of 64, to jump up the leaderboard into 22nd position.

The cut line fell at three under par, with attention now turning to Euphoria Golf Club where the leading 76 players will battle it out for the first title of the 2020 Road to Mallorca season.

De Jager and Kruyswijk will continue their title bid alongside Nienaber at 10:40am local time, with the third day’s action getting under way at 6.30am.

Read next