Friday, 19 March 2010

The tournament will be contested by sixteen national teams of three professionals played to a ‘round-robin’ format. The teams will be drawn into four groups of four teams. Each team will play will play against the other teams in the group.

All team matches will be decided over by three individual games over eighteen holes, in which the player with the lower eighteen hole medal score will be declared the winner.

The team with the most wins out of the three available will be declared the winner of that match and will be awarded one point.

In all matches, if players in any one, two or even all three games which comprise a match, return equal medal scores after the stipulated eighteen holes, the match will continue over extra holes of ‘sudden death’ until a winner is determined. The only exception being the semi-final where if the result of the game has no bearing on the match, then extra holes need not be played and no point will be awarded.

At the conclusion of the ‘round-robin’ stage the team with the greatest number of points in each group will go forward to the semi-finals to be played on the morning of the last day of the tournament with the winners meeting in the final in the afternoon. If, at this stage, there are two or more teams leading a group with the same number of points, the tie or ties will be determined as follows:

a) If two teams are leading on points, the team with the most individual wins (games) will go through to the semi-final.
b) If two teams are still tied after a), then the result between the two countries, if they have played shall decide who goes through to the semi-final. If the two teams have not played, the team with the lowest aggregate medal score shall go through to the semi-finals.
c) If three teams are tied on the same points and the same number of individual wins, the team with the lowest aggregate medal score shall proceed through to the semi-finals.


The Alfred Dunhill Cup International Advisory Committee decides the eight seeded teams who are then placed into the four groups as follows:

Group 1 seeded teams 1 & 8
Group 2 seeded teams 4 & 5
Group 3 seeded teams 3 & 6
Group 4 seeded teams 2 & 7

The eight unseeded teams will be drawn into each group. The official draw will be held at St. Andrews on Wednesday, 6th October.


Day 1: In all groups the first non-seeded team to be drawn will play the top seeded team in the group while the team drawn second will play the other seeded team.
Day 2: The teams will switch opponents so that the seeded teams in all groups play the non-seeded teams that they did not play on Day 1.
Day 3: The two seeded teams in each group play each other as do the non-seeded teams.


In a match where there is a seeded team playing a non-seeded team, the seeded team has the right to designate one of their team to play against a specific player on the opposing team. The non-seeded team selects the other two pairings. In the event of the two seeded teams playing against one another, the team with the higher seeding has the right to designate the first pairing, the other team selecting the remaining two pairings. In any match involving two non-seeded teams, the team having the first choice will be the team with the lower aggregate medal score over the first two days or three days.

In every case, the teams selecting only one pairing have the right to decide which of the three starting times that pair will occupy. The order of play of the remaining two games will be at the discretion of the team making the second selection.


No player may be substituted once the team’s first game has been called to the tee on the first day.
The Championship Committee reserve the right to change or amend any of the above conditions.

Get Adobe Flash player

R2D Fantasy

European Tour Partners

  • Rolex
  • BMW
  • Callaway
  • D P World
  • Dubai Duty Free
  • Emirates
  • Hilton
  • Workday

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2019. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.