Tuesday, 31 August 2010
Rory McIlroy  (Getty Images)
Rory McIlroy (Getty Images)

The PGA of America has selected Quail Hollow Club as the site of the 99th PGA Championship in August 2017, making it the third venue in the golf-popular state of North Carolina to host the Season’s Final Major.
Quail Hollow Club, founded in 1959 and designed by George Cobb in 1961, received renovations by Tom Fazio in 1997 and 2003, which enabled it to continue a heritage of hosting premier events. Beginning in 1969, Quail Hollow has hosted Tour events in four of the past five decades, which includes the Kemper Open (1969-79); the World Seniors Invitational (1980-89); and the Quail Hollow Championship (formerly the Wachovia Championship), which began in 2003.
In August 2017, Quail Hollow Club will join Pinehurst Resort & Country Club (1936) and Tanglewood Golf Club of Winston-Salem (1974) as the only North Carolina venues to host a PGA Championship.
“It is with great pleasure that we bring the PGA Championship back to North Carolina, and to make our first visit to Quail Hollow Club, a venue and a community that has demonstrated its skill in hosting premier golf,” said PGA of America President Jim Remy. “In 2017, the PGA Championship will once again attract golf’s finest players worldwide to compete at a course well respected among the best players in the game and challenge for the Wanamaker Trophy.”
“We have 50 years of rich history here at Quail Hollow Club that has helped prepare us for an opportunity such as this,” said John W. Harris, president of the Board of Governors of Quail Hollow Club. “To those who came before us and helped make this possible, we owe our thanks as we look back on a half century of great moments and look toward many more. We’re especially proud to host an event that has the history and tradition of the PGA Championship. It is one of America’s truly great championships.”
Quail Hollow Club’s 7,469-yard, par-72 layout has maintained praise from Tour professionals for its unique blend of a demanding and risk-reward layout. The final three holes “the Green Mile,” have consistently been ranked the toughest finish on the PGA Tour the past seven years. No other event, including the three U.S. major championships, has had holes 16, 17 and 18 ranked among the top three finishing holes on the Tour during that same period.
The PGA Championship, which enjoys a rich heritage dating back to 1916, will visit the following venues:

2011 – Atlanta Athletic Club (Highlands Course), Johns Creek, Ga.
2012 – Kiawah Island Golf Resort (The Ocean Course), Kiawah Island, S.C.
2013 – Oak Hill Country Club (East), Rochester, N.Y.
2014 – Valhalla Golf Club, Louisville, Ky.
2015 – Whistling Straits (Straits), Kohler, Wis.
2016 – Baltusrol Golf Club (Lower), Springfield, N.J.
2017 – Quail Hollow Club, Charlotte, N.C.
Since its origin in 1916, the PGA Championship has become one of the game’s most anticipated major championships, and perennially features the strongest field in golf. The PGA Champions roster featured many of the greatest players from all generations of golf – from Hagen, Sarazen, Snead, Nelson and Hogan, to Nicklaus, Trevino, Tiger Woods and Vijay Singh.

Get Adobe Flash player

R2D Fantasy

European Tour Partners

  • Rolex
  • BMW
  • Callaway
  • D P World
  • Dubai Duty Free
  • Emirates
  • Hilton
  • Workday

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2019. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.