Sunday, 09 October 2011
Lee Slattery  (Getty Images)
Lee Slattery (Getty Images)

• His first European Tour International Schedule victory in his 183rd European Tour event.

• Moves to €316,692 in The Race to Dubai. 

• Moves into the top 160 of the Official World Golf Ranking from 328th. 

• This victory beats his previous best European Tour performances of second in the 2006 Madeira Islands Open and tied second in 2008 Alfred Dunhill Championship.

• This victory beats his previous best 2011 performance of tied fifth in the SAINT-OMER OPEN presented by Neuflize OBC.

• The eighth first-time winner of the 2011 season. The first-time winners are: Nick Watney (WGC – Cadillac Championship), Nicolas Colsaerts (Volvo China Open), Thomas Aiken (Open de España), Robert Rock (BMW Italian Open presented by CartaSi), Matthew Zions (SAINT OMER OPEN presented by Neuflize OBC), Keegan Bradley (US PGA Championship), Oliver Fisher (Czech Open) and Lee Slattery (Bankia Madrid Masters).

• Graduated from the 2010 Challenge Tour Rankings. Is the second 2010 graduate to win on The European Tour in the 2011 season, following Matthew Zions (SAINT-OMER OPEN presented by Neuflize OBC).

• Victory came after he led going into the final round of a European Tour event for the first time.


• Is the 269th English victory on The European Tour.

• Became the 84th different Englishman to win on The European Tour.

• The 395th different player to win on The European Tour.

• The 13th English victory of the 2011 season. They are: Paul Casey (Volvo Golf Champions), Luke Donald (WGC – Accenture Match Play Championship, BMW PGA Championship and Barclays Scottish Open), David Horsey (Trophée Hassan II), Lee Westwood (Ballantine’s Championship), Ian Poulter (Volvo World Match Play Championship), Robert Rock (BMW Italian Open presented by CartaSi), Simon Dyson (Irish Open presented by Discover Ireland and KLM Open), Oliver Fisher (Czech Open), Kenneth Ferrie (Austrian GolfOpen presented by Lyoness) and Lee Slattery (Bankia Madrid Masters).

• Became the 23rd different Challenge Tour graduate to win the year after graduation. 

• Became the third consecutive English winner of the Bankia Madrid Masters, following Ross McGowan (2009) and Luke Donald (2010).

• Joined Ross McGowan (2009) as players making the Bankia Madrid Masters their first European Tour victory.

• Gained his largest European Tour prize of €166,660.

• Gained a European Tour exemption until the end of 2012.

• Gained an exemption into the 2011 WGC – HSBC Champions.

• Gained his sixth win as a professional.

Get Adobe Flash player

Tournament Leaderboard

Pos Player nameNatHolePar
2GAGLI, LorenzoITA18-14
T3DE LA RIVA, EduardoESP18-12
5AIKEN, ThomasRSA18-10
T6HANSON, PeterSWE18-9

European Tour Partners

  • Rolex
  • BMW
  • Callaway
  • D P World
  • Dubai Duty Free
  • Emirates
  • Hilton
  • Workday

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2019. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.