Wednesday, 12 October 2011
Luke Donald  (Getty Images)
Luke Donald (Getty Images)
Field in Focus: at the Dubai World Championship

europeantour.com takes a closer look at the field taking to the Earth Course, Jumeirah Golf Estates, for what promises to be a thrilling season-ending Dubai World Championship from December 8-11.

In the field are:

58 of the top 60 in The 2011 Race to Dubai

The qualification criteria for the Dubai World Championship of course dictates that the top 60 players in that season’s Race to Dubai qualify for the season-ending $7.5m showpiece in the Gulf, and all players are in attendance in the City of Gold bar England’s Justin Rose, who returned to Lake Nona, Florida, after his appearance at the UBS Hong Kong Open for the imminent birth of his second child, and Sweden’s Fredrik Jacobson, who was forced to withdraw from the field with an injury.

15 different nationalities represented 

       Belgium        1
CHI        Chile
DEN        Denmark         3
ENG        England         11
FRA        France
GER        Germany         1
       Ireland         2
ITA        Italy         4
      Korea        1
NED        Netherlands
NIR        Northern Ireland
SCO        Scotland
  South Africa




SWE        Sweden         6
WAL        Wales        2

2 previous winners of the Dubai World Championship

As the tournament this year marks its third staging at the Jumeirah Golf Estates, both previous winners of the event have once again qualified. Englishman Lee Westwood, the inaugural winner of the event in 2009, is currently fifth in this year’s standings, while the defending champion, Sweden’s Robert Karlsson, is at 42nd.

In 2009, Westwood secured the title with a nerveless final round 64 to win by a six shot margin and with it claimed the inaugural Race to Dubai title, while last year Karlsson triumphed over Englishman Ian Poulter after an exhilarating play-off.

2 previous winners of The Race to Dubai

Westwood won the maiden Race to Dubai in 2009, winning twice during the season – in the Portugal Masters and the Dubai World Championship – and accumulating a record €4,237,762, while Martin Kaymer took the honours the following year to become only the fourth continental European to win the Harry Vardon trophy, following in the footsteps of the legendary Seve Ballesteros, Bernhard Langer and Robert Karlsson. Kaymer won four times in a sensational 2010, capturing his maiden Major title at the US PGA Championship in addition to the Abu Dhabi Golf Championship, the KLM Open and the Alfred Dunhill Links Championship on his way to another record €4,461,011

10 Multiple European Tour Winners in 2011

   No.   Championships Won
Thomas Bjorn
   Commercialbank Qatar Masters presented by Dolphin Energy, Johnnie Walker Championship at Gleneagles, Omega European Masters
Darren Clarke
   Iberdrola Open, The Open Championship
Luke Donald
   WGC-Accenture World Match Play Championship, BMW PGA Championship, Barclays Scottish Open
Simon Dyson
   Irish Open presented by Discover Ireland, KLM Open
Sergio Garcia    2    Castello Masters, Andalucia Masters
Michael Hoey
   Madeira Islands Open, Alfred Dunhill Links Championship
Martin Kaymer    2
   Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship, WGC-HSBC Champions
Rory McIlroy
   US Open, UBS Hong Kong Open
Alex Noren
   Saab Wales Open, Nordea Masters
Charl Schwartzel
   Joburg Open, The Masters

The top 4 in the World

The Dubai World Championship is known as The Greatest Show on Earth and this year the Earth Course will truly play host to some of the finest golfers on the planet, including the current all-European top four players in the Official Golf World Ranking: Luke Donald, Rory McIlroy, Lee Westwood and Martin Kaymer.

Europeans have occupied the top four spots in the Ranking on a number of occasions this season, the first time being after the WGC-Accenture Match Play Championship where, after Donald defeated Kaymer in the final, Graeme McDowell joined the aforementioned two Europeans and Westwood to make the first all-European top four since 1992, when Ian Woosnam, Sir Nick Faldo, Jose Maria Olazábal and Seve Ballesteros topped the ranking.

10 Major Championship winners

   No.   Championships Won
Ernie Els    3   1994, 1997 US Open Championship, 2002 Open Championship
Retief Goosen    2   2001, 2004 US Open Championship
Darren Clarke    1    2011 Open Championship
Martin Kaymer    1
   2010 US PGA Championship
Paul Lawrie    1
   1999 Open Championship
Graeme McDowell    1
   2010 US Open Championship
Rory McIlroy
   2011 US Open Championship
Louis Oosthuizen
    2010 Open Championship
Charl Schwartzel
   2011 Masters
YE Yang
   2009 US PGA Championship

16 Players making their debut at the Dubai World Championship

Felipe Aguilar
George Coetzee
Nicolas Colsaerts
Mark Foster
Lorenzo Gagli
Michael Hoey
Scott Jamieson
Pablo Larrazábal
Paul Lawrie
Shane Lowry
David Lynn
James Morrison
Christian Nilsson
Thorbjørn Olesen
Hennie Otto
Jaco Van Zyl

Get Adobe Flash player

Tournament Leaderboard

Pos Player nameNatHolePar
1QUIROS, AlvaroESP18-19
2LAWRIE, PaulSCO18-17
3DONALD, LukeENG18-16
4HANSON, PeterSWE18-14
T6MOLINARI, FrancescoITA18-12
R2D Fantasy

European Tour Partners

  • Rolex
  • BMW
  • Callaway
  • D P World
  • Dubai Duty Free
  • Emirates
  • Hilton
  • Workday

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2019. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.