Sunday, 26 August 2012
Martin Kaymer  (Getty Images)
Martin Kaymer (Getty Images)

Martin Kaymer was today confirmed as the last of the ten automatic qualifiers for The 2012 European Ryder Cup team who will travel to Medinah Country Club, Chicago, seeking to retain The Ryder Cup from September 28-30.

After visiting 23 countries through 48 events, the year-long Ryder Cup qualification race drew to a close at the Johnnie Walker Championship at Gleneagles and all ten players – five from the European Points List and five from the World Points List – will head to the United States with previous Ryder Cup experience.

With Nicolas Colsaerts unable to claim the top two finish he needed to earn an automatic place in the final qualifying event, Kaymer maintained his position as tenth on the qualifying table.

European Captain José María Olazábal will announce his two wild cards at 12:00 BST on Monday to complete the 12-man team who will take on the United States next month.

The ten qualifiers are:-

José María Olazábal (Captain)1987-89-91-93, 97-99, 063118-8-5
Luke Donald2004-06, 10118-2-1
Sergio Garcia1999-02-04-06-082414-6-4
Peter Hanson201031-2-0
Martin Kaymer201042-1-1
Paul Lawrie199953-1-1
Graeme McDowell2008-1084-2-2
Rory McIlroy201041-1-2
Francesco Molinari201030-2-1
Justin Rose200843-1-0
Lee Westwood1997-99-02-04-06-08-103316-11-6

The ten confirmed members of the team will have played in a combined 23 Ryder Cup matches with a record of Won 52, Lost 29 and Halved 18, contributing a total of 61 points.

Their ages range from 23 to 43 - the youngest being World Number One Rory McIlroy, who qualified top of the list to secure his second Ryder Cup cap at the age of 23, and the oldest Paul Lawrie, who will also be playing his second Ryder Cup 13 years after making his debut.

Seven of the ten – Donald, Hanson, Kaymer, McDowell, McIlroy, Molinari, Westwood - played in the victorious 2010 European Team at The Celtic Manor Resort, where Graeme McDowell claimed the winning point in the dramatic 14 ½ - 13 ½ victory two years ago.

The ten players now confirmed for the team will come together to represent Europe from seven different countries - England, Germany, Italy, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Spain and Sweden.

European Captain José María Olazábal will make his announcement of the two wild cards LIVE on www.rydercup.com at 12:00 BST on Monday.

Get Adobe Flash player

Tournament Leaderboard

Pos Player nameNatHolePar
1LAWRIE, PaulSCO18-16
2RUMFORD, BrettAUS18-12
T3LAFEBER, MaartenNED18-11
T3WATTEL, RomainFRA18-11
T6MOLINARI, FrancescoITA18-10
R2D Fantasy

European Tour Partners

  • Rolex
  • BMW
  • Callaway
  • D P World
  • Dubai Duty Free
  • Emirates
  • Hilton
  • Workday

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2019. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.