Sunday, 22 June 2014
Mikko Ilonen   (Getty Images)
Mikko Ilonen (Getty Images)

Related Content


His fourth European Tour International Schedule victory in his 300th European Tour event.

Moves to €777,420 in The Race to Dubai.

Could move into the top 50 in the Official World Golf Ranking from 63rd. 

His first victory since the 2013 Nordea Masters.

The first time he has won in consecutive European Tour seasons during his career.

This victory beats his previous best 2014 performance of second in the Commercial Bank Qatar Masters, where lost a play-off to Sergio Garcia.

Becomes the first Finnish player to win the Irish Open.

Victory in the Irish Open comes in his ninth appearance in the event, but first at Fota Island.

This victory beats his previous best finish in the Irish Open of tied tenth in 2012.

Becomes the 29th different player to win the Irish Open since the event became part of The European Tour.

Finland becomes the 12th different country to win the Irish Open since the event became part of The European Tour.

The tenth player this season to win after leading or sharing the lead going into the final round.

The third of his four European Tour victories when he has led or shared the lead going into the final round. Led after 54 holes in the 2007 Indonesian Open, the 2013 Nordea Masters and by one shot here at the 2014 Irish Open. . (Made up three shots on the last day when he won the Nordea Masters in 2007).


His first wire-to-wire victory of his European Tour career. Led by two shots after both days one and two by one after rounds three and four.

The second consecutive wire-to-wire winner with no ties after any round, following Martin Kaymer at last week’s US Open Championship.

The fifth wire-to-wire winner of the season overall and fourth with no ties. The four are: Alejandro Cañizares (Trophée Hassan II), Lee Westwood (Maybank Malaysian Open), Martin Kaymer (US Open Championship) and Mikko Ilonen (Irish Open). (The other wire-to-wire winner was Patrick Reed (WGC – Cadillac Championship who tied for the lead after round two).

The fifth wire-to-wire winner in the Irish Open. They are: Christy O’Connor Jnr (1975), Bernhard Langer (1987), Sir Nick Faldo (1992), Colin Montgomerie (2001) and Mikko Ilonen (2014). (The last two were both at Fota Island).

The fourth Finnish victory in European Tour history.

Extends his European Tour exemption until the end of 2016.

Moves over €5 million in European Tour Official Career Earnings.

Gains a place in the 2014 WGC – Bridgestone Invitational and 2015 Volvo Golf Champions. (Already exempt for the 2014 Open Championship).

Gains his largest European Tour prize of €333,330.

Gains his fourth professional win.

Get Adobe Flash player

Tournament Leaderboard

Pos Player nameNatHolePar
1ILONEN, MikkoFIN18-13
2MOLINARI, EdoardoITA18-12
T3BALDWIN, MatthewENG18-11
T3BROBERG, KristofferSWE18-11
T3WILLETT, DannyENG18-11
T6CARLSSON, Magnus ASWE18-10

European Tour Partners

  • Rolex
  • BMW
  • Callaway
  • D P World
  • Dubai Duty Free
  • Emirates
  • Hilton
  • Workday

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2019. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.