Wednesday, 04 May 2016
Alejandro Canizares  (Getty Images)
Alejandro Canizares (Getty Images)

The European Tour returns to Africa this week for the Trophée Hassan II, with one of the most unique trophies in golf on offer once again. The iconic dagger, won by Richie Ramsay last year, got us thinking about some of the other unusual trophies from events past and present.

Here's a list of our 14 favourites...

Commercial Bank Qatar Masters

Branden Grace won the title this year and got his hands on the large, oyster-shaped trophy. Last year, Marc Warren said, "The Claret Jug is the greatest trophy in golf but the Mother of Pearl trophy is pretty special."

Maybank Championship Malaysia

The Maybank Championship Malaysia trophy, won by Australia's Marcus Fraser this year, certainly stands out in a crowd. The trophy is a sculpture of a tiger, a symbol of national pride in Malaysia. It weighs around five kilos and is 550mm x 340mm in size - something which will require plenty of space on Fraser's mantelpiece.

Trophée Hassan II

The Trophée Hassan II is one of the most unique events on The European Tour. Played behind the ramparts of the Royal Palace of Agadir, the winner receives this decorative dagger from HRH Prince Moulay Rachid.

The Nelson Mandela Championship

The Nelson Mandela Championship, co-sanctioned by The European Tour and the Sunshine Tour, was played for the first time in December 2012. Scotland's Scott Jamieson won the unique trophy in its first edition followed by South Africa's Dawie van der Walt in 2013. Sadly, Nelson Mandela, who is depicted on the trophy, died two weeks after the 2013 tournament.

The Russian Open

As well as receiving the a trophy for winning the The Russian Open, players also receive this array of traditional Matryoshka Doll trophies which fit into one another. Lee Slattery was the most recent player to add these dolls to his trophy case after taking home the title in September last year. He also received one of the most awkward handshakes you'll ever see.

Andy Sullivan's KLM Open Spaceship

While Andy Sullivan has picked up three European Tour titles, his most unusual trophy may be the one he received at the 2014 KLM Open. The Englishman holed his tee shot on the par three 15th hole winning a trip to space and this spaceship trophy for his mantlepiece.

Trophée Lancôme

The Trophée Lancôme was a European Tour event hosted in France from 1970 to 2003. The event had some notable winners such as Arnold Palmer, Gary Player, Lee Trevino, Johnny Miller, Seve Ballesteros, Nick Price, José María Olazábal, Vijah Singh, Colin Montgomerie, Retief Goosen and Sergio Garcia. The photo above shows the bronze bust trophy that players took home, accompanied by Jesper Parnevik who won the Trophée Lancôme in 1996.

The Daily Telegraph Damovo British Masters

No, this is not Greg Owen receiving an award at his university graduation. It is in fact the trophy awarded to the winner of the The Daily Telegraph Damovo British Masters, an event on The European Tour in 2003 and 2004. Owen won the title at Forest of Arden Hotel and Country Club in 2003, followed by Barry Lane in 2004.

Valle Romano Open de Andalucia

The Open de Andalucia, formerly the Turespana Masters, was a European Tour event in Spain that started in 1992. In 2007, the event made a comeback to the Tour after seven years in the form of the Valle Romano Open de Andalucia. Lee Westwood won by two strokes over Fredrik Andersson Hed and Phillip Archer, taking home this rather unique piece of silverware.

Castello Masters

Sergio Garcia has a fair few unique and impressive trophies in his locker, but the most unusual may be this one he picked up at the 2011 Castello Masters. Garcia won by a record 11 strokes over fellow Spaniard Gonzalo Fernández-Castaño, taking home this "thumbs up" trophy.

Mallorca Classic Trophy

Spain appears to have a flair for producing some amazing and unusual trophies. Case in point, this trophy given to the win of the Mallorca Classic, an event on The European Tour from 2003 to 2007. Grégory Bourdy was the last man to lift the trophy at Pula Golf, beating Sam Little by two shots eight years ago.

Dubai Desert Classic

The Dubai Desert Classic is one of the biggest events on The European Tour each season. Therefore it seems fitting that it awards one of the largest trophies on The European Tour in the form of the Dallah trophy. After winning it last year, Rory McIlroy was asked if he would fill it up like he did with the Claret Jug, he said, "I don't think so, I think it would be too expensive!"

Alfred Dunhill Championship

This Leopard trophy is awarded to the winner of the Alfred Dunhill Championship at Leopard Creek Country Club each year since 2000. The title has been won exclusively by South African and Spanish players over the last 11 years with Charl Schwartzel raising the distinctive trophy on four ocassions.

DP World Tour Championship

Chances are if you lift the DP World Tour Championship "septor" trophy, you've had a pretty successful season. The event sees the top 60 players in the season-long Race To Dubai fighting it out at the Jumeirah Golf Estates. In 2014, Henrik Stenson won the event, successfully defending a title for first time in his career. As you can see, he was pretty happy to raise the septor trophy!


Get Adobe Flash player

Tournament Leaderboard

Pos Player nameNatHolePar
1RAMSAY, RichieSCO18-10
2WATTEL, RomainFRA18-9
T3WOOD, ChrisENG18-8
T3COETZEE, GeorgeRSA18-8

European Tour Partners

  • Rolex
  • BMW
  • Callaway
  • D P World
  • Dubai Duty Free
  • Emirates
  • Hilton
  • Workday

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2019. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.