Monday, 15 July 2019
Darren Clarke  (Getty Images)
Darren Clarke (Getty Images)

Home hero and former champion Darren Clarke will hit the first tee shot when The Open Championship gets under way on Thursday.

Golf's oldest Major Championship is returning to Royal Portrush Golf Club and Northern Ireland for the first time since 1951 and 2011 winner Clarke will get things going at 6.35am in the company of Amateur Championship winner James Sugrue and American Charley Hoffman.

Fellow Northern Irishman Rory McIlroy - who set the course record of 61 at Portrush as a 16-year-old - will get his quest for a fifth Major title started at 10.09am alongside U.S. Open champion Gary Woodland and England's Paul Casey.

Portrush native Graeme McDowell is off at 9.14am in the company of 2016 winner Henrik Stenson and American Xander Schauffele, who finished joint second at Carnoustie Golf Links last year.

Defending champion Francesco Molinari is looking for his second Major and he tees off alongside American Bryson DeChambeau and and Australia's Adam Scott at 9.58am.

European Tour members Patrick Reed and Matt Wallace have been paired with 15 time Major winner Tiger Woods and that group get their campaign started at 3.10pm, 11 minutes before Spaniard Jon Rahm and Americans Patrick Cantlay and Matt Kuchar.

Race to Dubai Rankings Presented by Rolex leader Bernd Wiesberger goes off at 9.25am in an all European Tour member group also containing Li Haotong and Russell Knox.

England's Justin Rose tees off alongside Dane Lucas Bjerregaard and American Tony Finau at 2.48pm.

World number one Brooks Koepka, who has finished second, first and second in the year’s Majors to date, tees off at 1.04pm in the same group as 2010 champion Louis Oosthuizen and India’s Shubhankar Sharma.

Get Adobe Flash player

Tournament Leaderboard

Pos Player nameNatHolePar
1LOWRY, ShaneIRL18-15
3FINAU, TonyUSA18-7
T4KOEPKA, BrooksUSA18-6

European Tour Partners

  • Rolex
  • BMW
  • Callaway
  • D P World
  • Dubai Duty Free
  • Emirates
  • Hilton
  • Workday

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2019. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.