Tuesday, 22 May 2012
We bring this week's BMW PGA Championship field into focus with a few key stats  (EuropeanTour)
We bring this week's BMW PGA Championship field into focus with a few key stats (EuropeanTour)
Field in Focus: at the BMW PGA Championship

europeantour.com takes a closer look at the field taking to Wentworth's West Course for The European Tour's flagship event at the BMW PGA Championship from May 24-27.

In the field are:

9 former European Tour Number Ones

Colin Montgomerie    1993-1999, 2005
Lee Westwood
    2000, 2009
Retief Goosen    2001-2002
Ernie Els
Padraig Harrington
Justin Rose
Robert Karlsson
Martin Kaymer
Luke Donald

14 Major Championship winners with 20 Major titles

Ernie Els
    3    US Open Championship: 1994, 1997
Open Championship: 2002
Padraig Harrington
    3    Open Championship: 2007, 2008
US PGA Championship: 2008
Retief Goosen    2    US Open Championship: 2001, 2004
José María Olazábal
    2    Masters: 1994, 1999
Rich Beem

US PGA Championship: 2002

Michael Campbell    1    US Open Championship: 2005
Darren Clarke
    1    Open Championship: 2011
Ben Curtis
    1     Open Championship: 2003
Martin Kaymer
    1    US PGA Champioship: 2010
Paul Lawrie
    1    Open Championship: 1999
Graeme McDowell
    1    US Open Championship: 2010
Rory McIlroy    1    US Open Championship: 2011
Shaun Micheel    1    US PGA Championship: 2003
Charl Schwartzel
    1    Masters: 2011

13 European Tour winners from 2012

The standout man from this year’s European Tour winners is undoubtedly South Africa’s Branden Grace. Grace became just the second European Tour Qualifying School graduate to win more than €1 million the season after graduation, and the second graduate to win three events the season after gaining his European Tour card, making it a 2012 treble with victory at the Volvo China Open following triumphs at the Joburg Open and the Volvo Golf Champions in his home country. 

Branden Grace
    Joburg Open, Volvo Golf Champions, Volvo China Open
Robert Rock    Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship
Paul Lawrie
    Commercialbank Qatar Masters presented by Dolphin Energy
Rafael Cabrera-Bello    Omega Dubai Desert Classic
Jbe' Kruger
    Avantha Masters
Justin Rose
    WGC-Cadillac Championship
Julien Quesne
    Open de Andalucia Costa del Sol
Michael Hoey
    Trophée Hassan II
Thorbjørn Olesen    Sicilian Open
Bernd Wiesberger    Ballantine's Championship
Francesco Molinari    Reale Seguros Open de España
Ricardo Santos    Madeira Islands Open - Portugal
Nicolas Colsaerts
    Volvo World Match Play Championship

25 different nationalities represented 

ARG        Argentina
AUS        Australia         5
        Austria        2
        Belgium        1
        Chile        1
DEN        Denmark         5
ENG        England         37
        Finland        1
        France        10
GER        Germany         3
        India        2
IRE         Ireland
ITA        Italy         6
        The Netherlands        2
        Northern Ireland
        New Zealand        1
        Paraguay        1
        Portugal        1
RSA        South Africa         13
SCO        Scotland
ESP        Spain        12
SWE        Sweden         12
        Thailand        1
USA         United States         3
        Wales        4

10 Former winners of the BMW PGA Championship

José María Olazábal
Colin Montgomerie    1998, 1999, 2000
Anders Hansen
    2002, 2007
Ignacio Garrido
Scott Drummond
David Howell
Miguel Ángel Jiménez
Paul Casey
Simon Khan
Luke Donald

107 European Tour winners with 448 victories

Over two thirds of the superb field amassed for this week’s BMW PGA Championship have previously tasted victory on The European Tour, the most recent win coming from Belgium’s Nicolas Colsaerts last week on the south coast of Spain. The largest amount of those victories comes courtesy of Ryder Cup legend Colin Montgomerie, who with 31 European Tour scalps to his name – from his first ever victory at the 1989 Portuguese Open to his last, five years ago at the European Open at the K Club in Ireland – leads West Course designer Ernie Els (26), who narrowly missed out on his 27th Tour victory after succumbing to compatriot Branden Grace in a play-off for the Volvo Golf Champions, and European Ryder Cup Captain José María Olazábal (23) as the men with the most victories on Tour in the field this week at Wentworth.

12 Former winners on the West Course (excluding BMW PGA Championship)

Ernie Els
     World Match Play Championship: 1994-1996, 2002-2004, 2006
Lee Westwood    World Match Play Championship: 2000
Michael Campbell
    World Match Play Championship: 2005

28 Ryder Cup players competing in this year's Championship

23 players making their BMW PGA Championship debut

Get Adobe Flash player

Tournament Leaderboard

Pos Player nameNatHolePar
1DONALD, LukeENG18-15
T2LAWRIE, PaulSCO18-11
T2ROSE, JustinENG18-11
4LAWRIE, PeterIRL18-8
5GRACE, BrandenRSA18-7
6STERNE, RichardRSA18-6
R2D Fantasy

European Tour Partners

  • Rolex
  • BMW
  • Callaway
  • Dubai Duty Free
  • Emirates
  • Hilton

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2018. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.