News All Articles
The oldest winners in Tour history

The oldest winners in Tour history

Miguel Ángel Jiménez became the first player in history to win after turning 50 years old, becoming the oldest winner in Tour history.

Here, we take a closer look at the impressive list champions who lifted trophies later in their careers.

Miguel Angel Jimenez

Miguel Ángel Jiménez – 50 years, 133 days

Miguel Ángel Jiménez is no stranger to making history on the European Tour, now known as the DP World Tour, and he extended his own record as the oldest winner with victory at the 2014 Open de España.

At the age of 50 years and 133 days, Jiménez defeated Richard Green and Thomas Pieters on the first hole of a sudden-death play-off at PGA Catalunya Resort.

After finishing the tournament tied on four under par, Jiménez almost holed his chip from the back of the 18th green on the first play-off hole, and a par proved enough for him to claim the 21st Tour title of his career.

The Spaniard, who was making his 27th appearance at his home Open that week, later set the record on Tour for number of holes in one (10), and for number of appearances (707).

He has won a further eight times since on the PGA Tour Champions, the American over-50s circuit, including two Senior Major victories at The Senior Open Presented by Rolex and Regions Tradition.

open de espana jimenez

Miguel Ángel Jiménez – 49 years 337 days

A year after winning the same tournament in 2012, Jiménez extended his own recorded with a dramatic defence of the Hong Kong Open in December 2013 (2014 season).

Jiménez posted a late birdie at the 17th to earn his way into a play-off against Pom Meesawat and Stuart Manley, going on to make birdie on the first extra hole from 18 feet.

His victory, which came just a few weeks shy of his 50th birthday, was his 13th on Tour in his 40s, and fourth at Fanling.

Miguel Angel Jimenez

Miguel Ángel Jiménez – 48 years, 318 days

Jiménez claimed the record as the oldest winner in Tour history for the first time during the 2012 UBS Hong Kong Open.

Producing a masterclass in approach play, Jiménez captured his 19th Tour victory with a final round five under 64, finishing one shot ahead of Fredrik Andersson Hed.

At 48 years and 318 days, Jimenez was six months older than Des Smyth was when he won the 2001 Madeira Islands Open.

“It’s very nice - I hope it’s not the last one,” he had joked at the time.

Miguel Angel Jimenez

Richard Bland - 48 years, 101 days

Richard Bland made history as the oldest first-time winner on Tour when he broke through for his maiden win on his 478th attempt at the 2021 Betfred British Masters.

The Englishman, who spent nearly 23 years and 477 events searching for his first win, holed a huge birdie putt on his 72nd hole to set the clubhouse target, and went on to defeat Guido Migliozzi with a par on the first play-off hole.

It was an emotional victory for Bland, who went back to the Challenge Tour as recently as 2019 to regain his status on the DP World Tour.

"I don’t quit," he said following his win. "Even if I’m having a bad day - you might be frustrated by it - but you never throw the towel in because you never know in this game what’s round the corner.

"I always knew I could do it. Some of my friends out here have won. You think if they can win, surely I can do it. I’ve left it a little late, but better late than never.

"It’s what I’ve worked for for 20 years. That’s what we all work for, to win out here and try and prove yourself. I’ve had a few close calls and I assume someone up there was looking down on me quite favourably today. It was just my day."

Richard Bland

Des Smyth – 48 years, 34 days

Des Smyth remains one of just three players to win Tour events in four different decades.

Having first won in 1979, the Irishman became the oldest winner on Tour when he claimed his eighth title at the 2001 Madeira Islands Open.

Starting the day three shots back, Smyth produced a stunning back nine that included four birdies and eagle to card a six under par 66 and claim a two stroke victory.

After turning 50 in 2003, Smyth joined the Staysure Tour, where he has won five times.

Des Smyth

Neil Coles – 48 years, 14 days

Neil Coles became the first player over the age of 48 to win when he claimed the 1982 Sanyo Open, overtaking the previous record of Christy O’Connor, who won the 1972 Carrolls International at 46 years, 187 days. It was a record that stood for 19 years.

The decorated Ryder Cup star won seven times on Tour, and nine times on the Staysure Tour. That included his win at the 2002 Lawrence Batley tournament, extending his own record as the oldest man to win on Europe’s over-50s circuit at a remarkable 67 years and 276 days.

neil coles

The Oldest Winners in DP World Tour history

· Miguel Ángel Jiménez: 50 years 133 days - 2014 Open de España

· Miguel Ángel Jiménez: 49 years 337 days - 2014 Hong Kong Open (Dec 2013)

· Miguel Ángel Jiménez: 48 years 318 days - 2012 UBS Hong Kong Open

· Richard Bland: 48 years, 101 days - 2021 Betfred British Masters

· Des Smyth: 48 years 34 days - 2001 Madeira Island Open

· Neil Coles: 48 years 14 days - 1982 Sanyo Open

· Eduardo Romero: 47 years 362 days - 2002 Barclays Scottish Open

· Christy O'Connor: 47 years 187 days - 1972 Carrolls International

· Mark McNulty: 47 years 95 days - 2001 Mercedes-Benz South African Open

· Mark O'Meara: 47 years 54 days - 2004 Dubai Desert Classic

· Tom Kite: 46 years 309 days -1996 Oki Pro-Am

· Harold Henning: 46 years 295 days - 1981 KLM Dutch Open

· Lee Westwood: 46 years 271 days - 2020 Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship presented by EGA

· Miguel Ángel Jiménez: 46 years 243 days - 2010 Omega European Masters

· Eduardo Romero: 46 years 55 days - 2000 Omega European Masters

Read next