News All Articles
What you need to know about U.S. Open Final Qualifying

What you need to know about U.S. Open Final Qualifying

Final Qualifying for next month’s U.S. Open begins on Monday, May 20. Here is everything you need to know as players look to book their spots for the penultimate Major Championship of 2024.

What has happened so far in the Qualifying journey?

Between April 22 to May 20*, thousands of hopefuls competed in 109 local qualifiers, comprising an 18-hole round, across the United States and Canada in Local Qualifying.

Any professional golfer or amateur with a Handicap Index of 0.4 or better was eligible to enter.

*One local qualifying site in Texas and Massachusetts will be added at a later date

How does Final Qualifying work?

Players who advance through local qualifying, and those who were exempt, head to one of 13 Final Qualifying sites.

Played over 36 holes in a single day, ten venues are in the U.S., one in England, one in Canada, and one in Japan.

Where is Final Qualifying taking place?

Starting on Monday, May 20, U.S. Open Final Qualifying begins across three sites.

  • Hino Golf Club’s King Course, in Shiga Prefecture, is a first-time host venue in Japan.
  • Walton Heath Golf Club, in Surrey, England, was a site when international qualifying began in 2005. The Old and New Courses will host a final qualifier for the 17th time.
  • Dallas Athletic Club’s Gold and Blue Courses will host a qualifier for the 11th time. 

Often called "Golf's Longest Day" - the last day of qualifying is June 3, when ten locations across the U.S. and Canada will hold 36-hole qualifying simultaneously.

Walton Heath-1495355691
Walton Heath is a long-time host venue of U.S. Open Final Qualifying

Who is playing in U.S. Open Final Qualifying?

As with years gone by, Final Qualifying will attract former Ryder Cup winners, winners on both the DP World Tour and PGA TOUR along with young global talent and experienced campaigners.

Among those in action at Walton Heath are a host of DP World Tour winners, including Team Europe Ryder Cup Vice Captain Edoardo Molinari, fellow Italian Matteo Manassero, Northern Ireland’s Tom McKibbin, New Zealand’s Daniel Gavins and Spain’s Jorge Campillo, who holds dual membership on the PGA TOUR.

Ross Fisher, who qualified for the U.S. Open via this method last year, Eddie Pepperell, Dan Bradbury and James Morisson are among an English contingent teeing it up that also includes Robert Rock, who retired from Tour group in 2022.

Rasmus Neergaard-Petersen of Denmark has already won twice on the European Challenge Tour this season and is among this playing, alongside past Walker Cup stars Conor Gough, Alex Maguire and Mark Power.

For the full field and tee times, click here.

How many places will be available through Final Qualifying?

The USGA has allocated nine qualifying spots from the final qualifier at Walton Heath, with two alternates.

The exact number of players to advance from each Final Qualifying site is determined by the number of players and the strength of each site’s field.

Where is this year’s U.S. Open being held?

The 124th U.S. Open Championship is to be contested on Pinehurst Resort & Country Club’s Course No. 2, for the fourth time from June 13-16.

A view of the par 3, ninth hole at Pinehurst's No.2 Course

Who won last year's U.S. Open?

Wyndham Clark claimed his maiden Major title with a one-stroke victory over Rory McIlroy at The Los Angeles Country Club

How else can players qualify?

In February, the USGA outlined the various exemption categories for this year’s U.S. Open.

  • Winners of the U.S. Open Championship the last 10 years
  • From the 2023 U.S. Open Championship, the 10 lowest scorers and anyone tying for 10th place
  • Winner of the 2023 U.S. Senior Open Championship
  • Winner of the 2023 U.S. Amateur Championship
  • Winners of the 2023 U.S. Junior Amateur and U.S. Mid-Amateur Championships, and the 2023 U.S. Amateur runner-up (must be an amateur)
  • Winners of the Masters Tournament from 2020-2024
  • Winners of the PGA Championship the last five years (including current year)
  • Winners of the Open Championship from 2022-24
  • Winner of the 2023 European BMW PGA Championship
  • Those players who qualified and were eligible for the season-ending 2023 Tour Championship
  • Multiple winners of PGA Tour events that award full-point allocation for the FedEx Cup, from the conclusion of the 2023 U.S. Open to the initiation of the 2024 U.S. Open:
  • The Top 5 players in the 2024 FedExCup standings as of May 20, 2024 who are not otherwise exempt
  • The points leader from the 2023 Korn Ferry Tour season using combined points earned on the Official Korn Ferry Tour Regular Season Points Standings and points earned in the Korn Ferry Tour Finals
  • The top two players from the final 2023 Race to Dubai Rankings who are not otherwise exempt as of May 20, 2024
  • The top player on the 2024 Race to Dubai Rankings as of May 20, 2024 who is not otherwise exempt
  • Winner of 2023 The Amateur Championship conducted by The R&A (must be an amateur)
  • Winner of the 2023 Mark H. McCormack Medal (Men's World Amateur Golf Ranking; must be an amateur)
  • Winner of the 2024 NCAA Division I Men's Individual Golf Championship (must be an amateur)
  • Winner of the 2024 Latin America Amateur Championship (must be an amateur)
  • From the current Official World Golf Ranking, the top 60 points leaders and ties as of May 20, 2024. Players must select a qualifying site at the time of entry. (NOTE: Blank entries will be filed by the USGA for players who become exempt after the close of entries.)
  • From the current Official World Golf Ranking, the top 60 points leaders and ties as of June 10, 2024 (if not previously exempt). Players must select a qualifying site at the time of entry. (NOTE: Blank entries will be filed by the USGA for players who become exempt after the close of entries.)
  • Special exemptions as selected by the USGA. (Deadline for submission of request: May 15, 2024)

Who is currently exempt for this year's U.S. Open?

To date, 52 golfers have earned full exemptions into the 156-player field at Pinehurst.

  • Wyndham Clark
  • Matt Fitzpatrick
  • Jon Rahm
  • Bryson DeChambeau
  • Gary Woodland
  • Brooks Koepka
  • Dustin Johnson
  • Jordan Spieth
  • Martin Kaymer
  • Rory McIlroy
  • Scottie Scheffler
  • Cameron Smith
  • Tommy Fleetwood
  • Min Woo Lee
  • Rickie Fowler
  • Tom Kim
  • Harris English
  • Austin Eckroat
  • Xander Schauffele
  • Bernhard Langer
  • Nick Dunlap
  • Bryan Kim (a) 
  • Stewart Hagestad (a)
  • Neal Shipley (a)
  • Justin Thomas
  • Phil Mickelson
  • Brian Harman
  • Shane Lowry
  • Ryan Fox
  • Keegan Bradley
  • Sam Burns
  • Patrick Cantlay
  • Corey Conners
  • Jason Day
  • Tony Finau
  • Lucas Glover
  • Emiliano Grillo
  • Tyrrell Hatton
  • Russell Henley
  • Max Homa
  • Taylor Moore
  • Viktor Hovland
  • Sungjae Im
  • Si Woo Kim
  • Adam Schenk
  • Sepp Straka
  • Nick Taylor
  • Ben Kohles
  • Christo Lamprecht (a)
  • Gordon Sargent (a)
  • Santiago De La Fuente (a)
  • Tiger Woods

The number of fully exempt players will increase with the inclusion of the top-60 point leaders and ties not already in the field from the Official World Golf Ranking, as of May 20 and June 10.

Read next